Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Focusing on Ground Glass??

Focusing on Ground Glass??

Hello,

My name is Suraj and I'm a 25 year old photographer from Detroit Mi. I have been shooting film for about 6 years now and got into large format photography last winter after picking up a Toyo 45CX with a Fujinon 135mm lens.

I have had focusing problems and was wondering if someone here could give me some tips. Right now I am using a Nikkor 50mm 1.8 lens as a loupe. I place the lens filter threads on the ground glass and look through the lens (from the lens mount side) to check focus. From here I use the fine focus on the front standard to make sure everything looks good.

This hasn't been working well and my photos are many times out of focus.

Do you guys know what I am doing wrong? I've heard of people taking the lens off the camera to focus, some people say using a reverse lens like mine will result in the photograph being out of focus by the thickness of the ground glass since the image is made on the grain side of the glass, etc.

Any tips on what I can do to remedy the problem?

Re: Focusing on Ground Glass??

First make sure that your ground glass is properly installed and in proper register. Then return the lens to the camera and get a proper, focusing eyepiece loupe and adjust its focus so it is focused on the grain side of the ground glass.

Quote Originally Posted by Bob Salomon - HP Marketing View Post
    First make sure that your ground glass is properly installed and in proper register. Then return the lens to the camera and get a proper, focusing eyepiece loupe and adjust its focus so it is focused on the grain side of the ground glass.
    Thank you very much for the reply. So the loupe will allow me to adjust it's focus such that it will focus on the grain side of the gg?

Also is there any way I can get by with my current setup in the mean time?

Quote Originally Posted by tron_ View Post