Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Bellows Material - replacement on a Toyo 45A

Bellows Material - replacement on a Toyo 45A

Greetings all,

OK, Maybe I am being a bit paranoid here as I am new to this all, but I thought I would ask a quick question in regards to a replacement Bellows I bought on ebay for a new to me Toyo 45A that I purchased.

Background - I bought the camera just recently full in the knowledge that it did require a bellows repair. Before I finalised the camera purchase, I did my research and found that a particular bellows found in ebay seemed to be the best on offer, apart from a genuine Toyo one. This was based on feedback as well as a couple of blog articles I have read.

Anyhow, I am in the final stages of the installation of the bellows and have been checking for light leaks. While the bellows is totally 100% pinhole free, I have noticed that if I run my LED torch against the material, I can see the torch move. This is checking with my head under a dark cloth, in my darkroom.

Is this typical for non vinyl/leather bellows material? Am I being paranoid or do I have a concern?

Cheers
    Last edited by hoffy; 1-Oct-2014 at 04:55.

Re: Bellows Material - replacement on a Toyo 45A

If you see the torch light I would be concerned about fogging during exposure.
    All the bellows I have are totally light tight when checked with a LED flashlight
    against the outside surface of the bellows.They may have changed the material
    used to make the bellows, if you can, you should ask for a return and replacement.

"seemed to be the best on offer, apart from a genuine Toyo one. This was based on feedback as well as a couple of blog articles I have read."

Which helps to prove that the internet isn't always the best source of information. A proper bellows would not do what this one does. Best is to see if they will take it back and then go buy the Toyo bellows. If they won't then throw it out and but the Toyo bellows.