Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Really tacky!

Really tacky!

It's not like this hasn't happened before but it hasn't happened in over forty years. Here's a little background, I'm not a young kid with a digital rebel. I've been in the commercial photo business for over forty six years and have shot for Life, Esquire, New York Times, Parade and many many fortune 500 companies including catalogs for Philips Electronics, Annual Reports for Exxon, catalog and ads for John Deere, ads for Union Carbide, Philips petroleum, Johnson and Johnson, McDonald's and on and on . I'm also a PPofA Master photographer since 1985. I'm not a beginner.

I pitched a potential ad agency client this week and got a call from the creative director today. He goes into the details of the shoot and as we're discussing it he says, "There's no budget". I said, "What, no budget as you want it for free?" That's exactly what they wanted. Anyway this agency has never assigned a job either pay or free to me and they're calling me to get a full day free for something they are making money on. It's not even a charity. I told the creative director that if they had been a good client and assigned work over time I would take care of something like this as a favor but not on the first assignment. These folks know my work and don't need to do a test with me. I also said if it would lead to other pay jobs I might consider it. No such promise was the response.

What do you think, Tacky?

I had a similar thing about three years ago. I did a freebie for three days for the United Way. I directed the lighting for a series of TV commercials and did the still photos for the ads. All of the crew did it for free and we didn't even get a thanks. No thanks at all! The real kicker was the agency that asked all of us including the writer to do this for free got paid by the United Way.

Enough is enough!!!!

Re: Really tacky!

Shameful, but, unfortunately, all too common in this day and age.