Thread: Wide gamut monitor?

Wide gamut monitor?

Hi,

There is currently a thread on monitors and not wanting to hijack the OP thread, I also plan on a new computer/monitor and am trying to decide if a wide gamut printer is what I need. I am confused a little about how you'd exactly use the wide gamut monitor and whether the software I use and harware I plan on buying would really get the most out of/support a wide gamut monitor. I'm thinking Dell u2413 or Eizo Flexscan SX2462W. I believe these are 10 but panels and that the calibration occurs on the monitor itself and not the graphics card of the computer? I can understand the benefit of this.

I am new to LF and plan on buying an Epson V700 to scan at home - yet more to learn. I currently have a crappy old dell laptop which is at least calibrated regularly and have an Epson R800 printer, uses pigment inks. I have custom profiles for my printer using my paper and my inks. I plan on buying an IT8 target for slide film so that the scanner is also profiled.

Currently I edit in Photoshop element 6.0 (PSE 6.0) and capture NX2 and can see myself possibly getting PSE 11, but no plans to get the full photoshop unless it becomes really necessary. I currently have NX2 set to Nikon aRGB and PSE defaults to sRGB unless I shoot aRGB (which I do on Nikon RAW). With the scanner, once I scan in can I open as aRGB?

After editing, mainly in NX2, I open a copy of my image, soft-proof with the profile for the printer and then try to edit that copy so that it looks like my original edit. Then I hope that which I put on my website matches that which I print. Am I doing this wrong in anyway? How would having a wider gamit screen help this? If it has modes like aRGB and sRGB on the monitor, surely even if you are in aRGB mode and you "save for web" which converts to sRGB do you need to change the monitor to that mode or will it display fine in aRGB mode just with a compressed colour range?

Any clear answers would be appreciated!