Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hello, new here and I need some advice: 4x5 vs 8x10

Hello, new here and I need some advice: 4x5 vs 8x10

New here!

OK so I looove portraits and I'm wanting to jump into large format for this purpose, but I'm not entirely sure where to start. My dilemma isn't on which specific camera to get or how to develop the film but whether I should jump into 8x10 or start with 4x5. The latter is more cost-effective but it might not give me that look. I'm a hobbyist and I won't be using large format ALL the time and so the cost of film is less important to me and I can probably start with Xray film to get used to it.

The reason for me starting with 8x10 is because the images that I have seen are simply more stunning. It has nothing to do with the enlargements as I don't print that large and I definately appreciate the benefits of 120 over 35mm. Part of the reason why 8x10 portaits look "better" might be because those photographers are just better, but I am unsure. I definitely don't see as many good 4x5 portraits as I do 8x10.

Another issue is the cameras. I want one that is metal, sturdy, and somewhat compact/portable. I don't care about movements but I do want a viewfinder (a rangefinder is unimportant to me) and for it to fold up. All I want is a normal lens (~$300mm-360mm I believe) too.

With 4x5 I know that there is Graflex, Linhof, and several Japanese cameras in between. What are my 8x10 options? My budget is roughly $1k, maybe $1.5k tops but I'm not looking into spending much if any more than that. Is this doable? If it isn't then the choice is easy and I will stick with 4x5 or compromise portability/compactness in 8x10.

Any thoughts/suggestions/opinions/advice?

Re: Hello, new here and I need some advice: 4x5 vs 8x10

I shoot both formats. I really prefer 8x10 when circumstances permit.

However, there is one huge difference... the range of lenses available.
    The limiting factor is the diameter of the Image Circle (IC).