Thread: Gossen Variable angle attachment or Spotmeter

Gossen Variable angle attachment or Spotmeter

I have a Gossen Multi Pro meter. Ive been using it for over 8 years and its never failed me once. Since I started my 4x5 work I have been thinking of getting a spotmeter to have more control, I have also been contemplating getting the variable angle attachment for the multi pro as a much cheaper option. The VA attachment will give me a 7.5 degree meter, will this be enough for serious B&W work? Anyone using a VA attachment? Or should I just get a Minolta spotmeter F or Pentax Spotmeter V?

Despite what I have posted in the past. I now believe that the best spot Zone System meter out there is the Zone VI Modified Pentax Digital Spot sold by Calumet. Look at the Alan Ross article linked to that meter in the Calumet website. I have pooh-poohed the necesity of this meter in the past, but decided to actually buy one and test it and it is all it is cracked up to be. You can actually read through filters and get accurate results. I am now getting my old one modified also as a back up. Sorry about the uninformed posting I have put up before. good luck.
    Thanks,
    Kirk

at age 73:
    "The woods are lovely, dark and deep,
    But I have promises to keep,
    And miles to go before I sleep,
    And miles to go before I sleep"

If 7.5 degrees is all you get, then it is certainly insufficient. I use the Minolta Spot F and never thought of any other model / make. It's small, light, accurate and reliable.
    Witold
    simplest solutions are usually the most difficult ...

Geos