Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 90mm f6.8 vs f8 lenses

90mm f6.8 vs f8 lenses

Hi Folks,

I am relatively new to LF photography.

When it comes to a 90mm lens, is there really a difference between a f6.8 and f8 when it comes to focussing? I can understand that at the maximum aperture one might be brighter than the other, but surely as you stop down to determine where you have all that you want in focus, this difference disappears or am I misunderstanding something?

I'm into landscapes, so would be looking at early dawn and have a good darkcloth. Would that f6.8 make the experience so much better? I think a f5.6 would be too heavy what with the rest of the gear for me.

Cheers

Graham

Re: 90mm f6.8 vs f8 lenses

The 6.8 part of the question makes me think you are considering one of the Angulons. They have limited coverage for 4x5 and some of the early ones I have used really aren't sharp to the edges even with no movements. F:8 90's, like the Nikkor, have lots of coverage which is a big plus to most people. To answer your question on focusing, I don't think the f:8 lenses are hard to focus, you should be using a loupe with either since it is so easy to be off if you eyeball a wide angle.

As Kevin points out, the most significant difference is not in how brightly they throw an image. It is a relatively small difference. What Kevin didn't point out is the HUGE difference in size. My 90mm F8 is about the size of a small brick, whereas the 6.8 is a tiny little gem that fits into the palm of my hand with ease. My particular lens is sharp out the edges, but as he aptly mentions, the coverage is just enough for 4x5. No spare coverage for movements. It's a great point and shoot W/A for a Speed Graphic, but not much for architecture.
    Michael W. Graves
    Michael's Pub

If it ain't broke....don't fix it!

Quote Originally Posted by Kevin Crisp View Post