Thread: architecture assignment advice needed

architecture assignment advice needed

I'm not an experienced architectural photographer, but I've been asked to photograph a two-story building that has been renovated for a law office. The structure takes up a city block, so it will be a horizontal shot, taken from an angle, not straight on. My question: If I use either a 75mm or 90mm lens and stop down to f32 or f45, will that be enough to bring everything into focus along the front of the building, or should I definitely plan to use front swing. In other words, by using a wide angle lens with its inherent good depth of field, will I still need to employ Schiempflug? Also, it's my understanding that my 4x5 transparency will be digitized, so that any color corrections, etc. will be taken care of in Photoshop. In light of this, should I plan on using a polarizer or other types of filtration? I'm a little nervous about this assignment. Thanks for your advice.

I am an amateur myself, but I've spent some time recently taking pictures of buildings. There is no way to be sure without either being there or knowing the dimensions of the building and the point of view of the camera, but I would be highly surprised if you needed to use a swing with either a 90 mm or 75 mm lens.