Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: My Lack of Knowledge in Wet Plate

My Lack of Knowledge in Wet Plate

I don't think I am unique in that I have spent hours upon hours researching wet plate collodion and browsing plate cameras... trying to decide if I should buy one or make one... trying to figure out which lens would be the best & most cost effective at the same time... can I just say- HELP!!!

I am a skilled photographer. I shoot digital by trade currently, but hibernate in my darkroom making my way through my 5x7 film and 35mm when it's just "me" time. My newest endeavor that I've been itching to begin for some time now (actually 9 months... didn't want to do it while pregnant due to chemical exposure) is wet plate. I am ready to begin this process in my heart, but just when I thought I had it all figured out I realized I don't really know as much as I thought.

I need a wet plate camera. I want a 10x12 or 11x14. I am having trouble finding very many of them. The original idea was to just build my own. I have a skilled woodworking hubby, but my problem is the design... "how" to do it. I have to be able to give my hubby a plan so he can make it since he doesn't know anything about photography. I have ran across the Otti design book and heard mixed reviews. I am wondering if any of you guys know an approximate cost of making your own wet plate camera in the sizes listed? Also, if it would be more cost effective to just buy a camera already made? And if so, what camera(s) would you recommend?

I hope this is not a redundant post. I did search the forum first, but didn't quite find the answer I was hoping for. Maybe some of you wet platters out there can be more of assistance. I almost feel a bit discouraged about the whole thing. :/

Thanks in advance!!
    "The very instant that I saw you did
    My heart fly to your service." Shakespeare

Re: My Lack of Knowledge in Wet Plate