Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Help! with Rockland tintype kit

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Help! with Rockland tintype kit

Hi, I'm brand new to LF photography, (and anything you develop yourself, for that matter) and need suggestions to maybe remedy a problem I'm having.
    I'm trying out the Rockland Tintype kit, and having trouble with fogging on the plates, with only a bare minimum of the shot coming up with development.(shooting with open shutter, and exposure times from a few sec. up to 25sec.)
    I'm also a dedicated cheapskate, so pretty sure that the problem lies in my setup.
    I have a converted bathroom completely darkened out for a darkroom, and am using a 25 w GE red party bulb for light.
    The light is slightly around a corner in the room from where I'm developing, but every plate is white going into the developer, darkens up, then gray's out in the fixer solution.
    Any suggestions from anyone else with a similar problem?

Thanks, TMann

Re: Help! with Rockland tintype kit

Quote Originally Posted by Tmann View Post
    Hi, I'm brand new to LF photography, (and anything you develop yourself, for that matter) and need suggestions to maybe remedy a problem I'm having. I'm trying out the Rockland Tintype kit
    Honestly my BIGGIST suggestion is DONT start out large format or developing film doing tintype. Start off using using standard modern films and standard modern developers.

Quote Originally Posted by Tmann View Post
    I have a converted bathroom completely darkened out for a darkroom, and am using a 25 w GE red party bulb for light.
    Just because the light is red in color does NOT mean it is blocking out all the other wave lengths of light that can expose your film.

It could also be an issue with how you mixed the chemistry.
    Zak Baker
    zakbaker.photo

"Sometimes I do get to places just when God's ready to have somebody click the shutter."
    Ansel Adams