Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: 6x9 technical camera

6x9 technical camera

Hello everyone:

I would like to start taking pictures with a nice long lasting 6x9 technical camera. I am not sure if a field or a monorail will be better. My instinct says a monorail (if i am using technical cameras, i would like to have all technical movements).

I am not afraid about technical idiosyncrasy. I have been using a mamiya 23 with a ground glass for a couple of years. And I love the big focusing screen for composing. I take pictures very slowly. My workflow is always the same. Plan. Find localization. Get together everything I need. Wait for appropiate wheather. Get there. Prepare. Take picture. Scan. Postproduce. Print.

I have a Nikon Coolscan 9000 ED, that's why I am choosing 6x9 (I clean and postproduce every negative in my computer), also because i love that proportion when used horizontally.

My first choice is the Cambo system. More exactly the 45SF or the 23 SF (4kg!).

Pros: they have a digital update, not too old camera, not too expensive. I am located in Spain, Cambo is from the Netherlands, so replacements, lens boards, etc won't be a problem. Can be packed with relative ease. Universal G back. Still in production. Modular system.

Cons: 4kg!!!!!!! (the SF23 is 3,8kg o.O) Not a lot of second hand.

I would appreciate advice and experiences on 6x9 technical cameras. ¿Am I pointing in the right direction?

By the way I plan spending 1000-1200eur in this system.

Thanks a lot!!!

Re: 6x9 technical camera

I spent about 5 years with a Horseman 980 6x9 field camera, had a lot of stuff with it, 65, 105, 150 Horseman lenses and a 270 Rodenstock Rotelar, sliding back to use ground glass with a roll holder and a 4x5 back. Started using more 4x5 and sold it for a Toyo aluminum field camera. Anyway the Horseman was a good camera, all but the 4x5 back fit nicely in a large Domke bag and wasn't too heavy. A lot of my favorite photos were taken with this set up.