Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: College level Photography?

College level Photography?

The notice (below) of a LF conference, hosted by a Professor of Photography, suddenly gave me the dumb thought: How on earth can Photography possibly be taught on a college level? Okay -- a semester or two of courses. Maybe even a study of advanced photographic chemistry, and alternate processes, as well as a thorough survey of photographic history. But how in the world can they possibly dedicate a whole curriculum to something which, for all purposes, could be learned from an introductary high school course and a little experience? In fact, most people of my generation, were self-taught. Edward Weston seems to be the only one of the great masters who had any formal training, and that was in commercial portraiture.
    Wilhelm (Sarasota)

Bill,

I don't teach photography, and I've never taken a photography class in my life but if circumstances allowed I'd jump at the chance! FWIW, you probably can't learn "photography" any more than you can learn "art" or for that matter,"brain surgery"but you can learn technique and history and "seeing." While I'm futzing around under my home made dark cloth, I can appreciate the opportunity to be able to study under someone whos "been there, done that and bought the t-shirt." Would it make me a successful photographer? Probably not, but I'd bet it would help me achieve my goal of becoming a better photographer sooner than my current "self taught" route I've embarked on. This assuming you get an instructor who hasn't bought into the Dewey influenced school of education lock stock and barrel. IMHO, those guys (and gals) are a waste of anyone's time. Flee from those scalawags!
    "I would feel more optimistic about a bright future for man if he spent less time proving that he can outwit Nature and more time tasting her sweetness and respecting her seniority"---EB White