Thread: suitable lenses for portraits

suitable lenses for portraits

I am a beginner in 8x10" photography and interested in close up portraits. I have Nikkor 240mm and 450mm lenses. This one requires long bellows extension and faces appear not as close as I would like. Is there a better lens or combination for this purpose? Carlos

I've done a fair amount of portraiture on 8x10, or at least enough to know that I find the 240mm focal length to be rather nice for that application. Some might prefer a longer focal length, but I think it works pretty well.

My preference leans toward the 450mm for portaits on 8x10, but there are numerous trade-offs, both technical and artistic, that need to sorted through on an individual basis. The long bellows draw required by the 450mm can certainly be inconvenient. But, I like the perspective provided by the increased camera-to-subject distance with the longer lens.

If I knew someone close with a Nikor 600T, I'd love to tinker with it for tight head shots on 8x10. I've played around a bit with the 360T I often use on 4x5. While it obviously doesn't cover 8x10 at infinity, at the bellows extension used for head shots, I'm not seeing any fall-off on the ground glass. I need to find an interesting face to put in front of the camera before I burn any film, though.

Carlos, David & Ralph. I use a Sinar P1 5x4 for general work, which is taking photographs for artist, both portrait and landscape. I am considering going up to 8X10. I have a Rodenstock 360/9 Apo Ronar. I am thinking of using it for close head shots. Does anyone have any experience of using this focal lenght lens for portrait work, and what extention rail/bellows length would be the most useful to get?