Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Large Format in Seattle

Large Format in Seattle

So I am currently located in Phoenix, Az and I am thinking about potentially moving to Seattle. I think Seattle is a great city, and I was thinking of living more in the Tacoma area for any other LF photographers close by.

My main question is how do you go about photographing in the weather conditions that are present in the Washington/Mt. Rainier/Olympic NP area? I understand it rains a lot, and it is misty and so am correct in believing that photographing with a large format camera is very difficult if not impossible most of the time?

If this is all true what are the solutions? A massive trash bag over the camera with a hole fitted for the lens? I am looking for a solution because I would very much like to live and produce work in the region. I am a nature/landscape photographer so all my work is produced in the forest, outdoors.

Thank you for all your help.

-Ian

Re: Large Format in Seattle

Rain and mist can be your friend for landscapes; it is currently mine along the Maine coast. The trash bag idea is excellent and I use it when I can't persuade my wife to hold an oversized umbrella. Dress in modest rain gear.

Fact is there is a lot of decent weather on both north coasts and I've found plenty of days without rain or mist in the northwest.

Nate Potter, Austin TX. and Corea Me.

Paul

I live just East of Seattle. It is true that is rains alot and it gets dark around 5:00 in the winter time. But there are usually breaks in the weather and with a little bit of luck, we get a couple weekends a month to go out and shoot. The benefit of the poor weather is that the national parks aren't very busy and the waterfalls are raging. Also, there usually lots of snow in the moutains.

That's actually a photo up here of Vancouver, Chris.

Format Omnivore Brian C. Miller's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by IHS View Post