Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Freezer or Refrigerator for Films?

Freezer or Refrigerator for Films?

Hi All,

Quick survey... Freezer or refrigerator? What's the preferred method of keeping film?

I just bought 20 x 50 sheet boxes of Provia film at an incredible price and want to store them in a manner that will ensure they'll last.

I've been told that the freezer method requires that the film be packaged well in plastic with as little air as possible.

Any other recommendations?

Thanks in advance.

Cheers
    Life in the fast lane!

I use ziplocks in the freezer for long term storage - otherwise, my wine fridge has a whole section devoted to my other pursuit...

I've been using a freezer for 4 years for boxed film and pre-loaded film holders. Use zip-loc bags and allow at least 1 hour (2 is better) after removing it from the freezer before opening the bag, to prevent condensation. Don't worry too much about getting all the air out of the bag before freezing but just get as much as you can, as a freezer is *DRY*, i.e. very low humidity. It's when you take film out that you can cause a problem.

Donald,

I stored my films in the wine fridge too but then my "sharpening tools" started taking over. I only had 300 sheets though and now that I've bought this big batch... they have to go in the freezer. Besides, some of my preferred Napa Valley vinos have just arrived!

BTW, Donald... what temperature do you have the wine fridge at? Mine's set at 58 degrees.

So many things to photograph, so many wines to drink, and so little time!

Steve,

I saran wrapped the entire box to keep things dry in the fridge... I'll have to go and get some zip- loc bags then.

Thank you both for the suggestions.

Cheers
    Life in the fast lane!