Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Super Angulon 90mm f/8 - focal length/angle of view using only front element?

Super Angulon 90mm f/8 - focal length/angle of view using only front element?

Hi, I'm new to the large format world... so I apologize if this is a silly question.

I am using a 4x5 Cambo with a Fotodiox Graflok to Nikon adapter back to shoot digital. The first lens I bought was a Schneider Super Angulon 90mm f/8, which I cannot get to focus at all. The DSLR sensor actually sits a few cm back from the film plane, so I'm guessing the 90mm is too wide for this setup?

Anyway, I just tried removing the rear element, and voila! now I can focus. Are there any drawbacks to using half the lens? Is there a loss of sharpness or increase in distortion? Also, I'm curious what the focal length becomes.

Thanks for any insight! I'm hooked on LF and excited to learn more.

James

Re: Super Angulon 90mm f/8 - focal length/angle of view using only front element?

That lens is not convertible; when using the front element alone you will get distortion, abberations, an unknown focal length, and an unknown aperture.

Using a DSLR on a view camera is not large format, which doesn't mean people here won't be glad to help you.
    One man's Mede is another man's Persian.

Re: Super Angulon 90mm f/8 - focal length/angle of view using only front element?

Quote Originally Posted by jameswangphoto View Post
    I am using a 4x5 Cambo with a Fotodiox Graflok to Nikon adapter back to shoot digital. The first lens I bought was a Schneider Super Angulon 90mm f/8, which I cannot get to focus at all. The DSLR sensor actually sits a few cm back from the film plane, so I'm guessing the 90mm is too wide for this setup?
    James