Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Fixing a Novatron

hacker extraordinaire

Fixing a Novatron

I have a flash system that has had a broken flash tube since I bought it. I bought a new tube for it and soldered it in, but it doesn't flash. It's possible that I got a bad tube, but it could also be something else. But there's not a whole lot else--just some resistors, a cap, and some weird cardboard coil thingy.

I'm suspecting that brown cardboard coil thing. I have no idea what it is but it looks like a coil of some kind. Maybe the electrolyte is dried out or something? Does anyone know what it's for?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails coil.jpg   coil2.jpg  
    Science is what we understand well enough to explain to a computer. Art is everything else we do.
    --A=B by Petkovšek et. al.

Re: Fixing a Novatron

LOL bettersense.... be careful !! The voltage from these units will stop your heart.. literally... i work with my dad when i was a kid as a electrician helper... i have seen a fellow worker killed from electrocution. It was from hi amperage ... but the right hi voltage can stop your heart. It seems to me that it would be cheaper to buy a used working head.... just my humble opinion...

hacker extraordinaire

Don't worry; I'm a professional. I just don't know what I'm doing.
    Science is what we understand well enough to explain to a computer. Art is everything else we do.
    --A=B by Petkovšek et. al.

Quote Originally Posted by BetterSense View Post
    II'm suspecting that brown cardboard coil thing. I have no idea what it is but it looks like a coil of some kind.
    That's the trigger transformer. It's probably open. Fairly common problem, not related to the broken flash tube.

I suggest you send it to Novatron for repair.

- Leigh
    If you believe you can, or you believe you can't... you're right.

Scott Davis