Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Will 210mm f/6.8 Calter II-e elements fit into a Prontor Press shutter?

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Halifax, Nova Scotia
    Posts
    443

    Will 210mm f/6.8 Calter II-e elements fit into a Prontor Press shutter?

    This lens originally came in a Copal 1 shutter and I have the opportunaty to pick up the elements for about $100. I have a 127 Ysaron in a Prontor Press shutter. I would like to swap elements if possible. Jim Galli, you seem to be the expert. Have you ever tried this?

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Halifax, Nova Scotia
    Posts
    443

    Will 210mm f/6.8 Calter II-e elements fit into a Prontor Press shutter?

    Any other lens suggestions that will go into this shutter are appreciated as well.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    7,896

    Will 210mm f/6.8 Calter II-e elements fit into a Prontor Press shutter?

    If your Prontor Press is a #1, yes they'll fit.

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Tonopah, Nevada, USA
    Posts
    6,338

    Will 210mm f/6.8 Calter II-e elements fit into a Prontor Press shutter?

    Hmmm. No expert but I do remember having one of those Prontor Press 127 shutters and even though the threads were correct there was some other obstruction that precluded putting normal Copal 1 things in. If you had one of the CU-5 Copal shutters it would work.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Halifax, Nova Scotia
    Posts
    443

    Will 210mm f/6.8 Calter II-e elements fit into a Prontor Press shutter?

    Is that the one the Tominon lenses came in?

  6. #6

    Will 210mm f/6.8 Calter II-e elements fit into a Prontor Press shutter?

    Even if the elements fit, you will still need to find a matching aperture scale, which may be a challenge.

    Guy

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    7,896

    Will 210mm f/6.8 Calter II-e elements fit into a Prontor Press shutter?

    Q:"Is that the one the Tominon lenses came in?"

    Probably not. Polaroid Tominons typically came in Copals, Polaroid Rodenstocks typically came in Prontors.

  8. #8

    Will 210mm f/6.8 Calter II-e elements fit into a Prontor Press shutter?

    The shutter from a 127mm ysaron should work fine. It's the shutters with 75mm lenses that wont work right. -Also some of the mp3 branded prontor shutters dont have apertures at all.

    I have a few of these, and I just note what smallest aperture on the shutter allows for full light through the lens, then I calulate the difference in stops and compensate when I make the exposure.

    ex: f5.6 caltar. the shutter closes down to f4, then at the next stop the baldes start to show in the lens. So if my meter says to use f32, I set the aperture at f22 (+1 stop)

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    221

    Will 210mm f/6.8 Calter II-e elements fit into a Prontor Press shutter?

    There are a few things here: I would assume that the prontor-press shutter came from one of Polaroid units - they seems to have been the the biggest user of Prontor & Copal press shutters at one time! The Ysaron were used on the MP-3 I belive, prior to Polaroid swapping to Tomioka's Tominon-lenses for the MP-4 series. But Polaroid shutters came from at least two channels: Slightly modified Prontor Press from the CU-5 equipment, and purpose-built shutters from the MP-3 & MP-4 equipment. The former is standard prontor or Copal 0 press-shutters (but with elongated adjustment-lever) with aperture OK, but on the (Tominon) 75mm, aperture is limited by fixed metal disc inside shutter. On these CU-5 shutters, any size 1 lens (for example G-claron 210mm) can readily be mounted, and size 0 lenses can be mounted using shutter-1 to lens-barrel-0 stepper-rings (Sinar sells these for DB-mounting, probably Grimes have them too?). On the MP-3 & 4 shutters, the mounting thread is a weired size requiring adapter rings to mount 39mm lenses or shutter-diametre lenses, and the shutters are w/o aperture mechanism. Since the Ysaron were used both as front-mounted lenses (whole lens w/aperture mechanism in front of shutter - MP-4-wise) & possibly also standard-mounted for CU-5, shutter origin will decide if the shutter can be used for mounting standard aperture-less lenses - if Ysaron is front mounted: Nope!.

    Hope this helps.

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    7,896

    Will 210mm f/6.8 Calter II-e elements fit into a Prontor Press shutter?

    Tor, I have too many MP-4 Tominon lenses and a couple of ex-MP-4 Copal #1 Press shutters. The front of the shutter is threaded M40x0.75. This is the standard #1 shutter front thread, it isn't weird.

    The Ysarons I've seen in MP-3 Prontor Press shutters were mounted normally, i.e., with the front cell in front of the shutter, the rear cell behind the shutter, and the diaphragm in the usual place. Could you have been thinking of the MP-3's 35/4 Eurygon, which is indeed front-mounted? I had one for a while.

    Cheers,

    Dan

Similar Threads

  1. Prontor Press repair?
    By Bob Bauer in forum Lenses & Lens Accessories
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2-Apr-2006, 18:05
  2. Prontor Press Perdicament
    By John Kasaian in forum Lenses & Lens Accessories
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 27-Sep-2003, 09:37
  3. Changing a Prontor-Press shutter
    By Richard Årlin in forum Lenses & Lens Accessories
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 9-Apr-2001, 13:00
  4. What is the Prontor shutter all about?
    By nick rowan in forum Lenses & Lens Accessories
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 5-Dec-2000, 13:05
  5. What is a Prontor Press Shutter?
    By Erik Ryberg in forum Lenses & Lens Accessories
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 30-May-2000, 11:56

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •