Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Ansel's Winter Sunrise.

Ansel's Winter Sunrise.

I need some help understanding what he did, to achieve such a beautiful image in the darkroom.

I don't have a darkroom, however; hoping to change that. I have bought my first enlarger, but haven't gotten a chance to pick it up yet. But that's down the road.

I'm new to film and especially 4x5. I've only been shooting 6 months now [film].

I just bought the Ansel App and I see this small slide show showing "Winter Sunrise". It shows what the original negative produced, then through 3 addition variations, what the final image looked like, through Darkroom Manipulation.

How in the world does one change very defined areas of a print through dodging and burning. I mean, I can only relate this to using Photoshop and using mask to create such contrast in "certain" parts of the final image.

How does one do that in the Darkroom. I wish I could provide a visual as to what the iPad app shows, but it's quite amazing to me.

Sorry for the newb question to those veterans here. If this isn't in the proper forum, please move it where it should belong.

I would like as an experiment to create the great levels on contrast on possibly one of my images shown below.... My first outing shooting landscapes ever, using a 4x5.

Ansel's Winter Sunrise

Dominik

Re: Ansel's Winter Sunrise.

Adams influenced the outcome at the picture taking stage in short he used a red filter. In the lab he used dodging and burning, maybe some local bleaching as well. The light is also very important the sun seems to have been lower close to sunset or sunrise
    Make your print a little darker especially the sky, dodge the light parts of the prints (hills and trees). Use a red or orange filter the next time and the most important part look for the light.

Dominik

Kevin Kolosky