Thread: Durst Lambda

45-57-617

Durst Lambda

Am I to believe that Durst has dropped the Lambda from its lineup? I can't see it anymore on their website. There are many inkjet printers but where is the laser / chemical combo?

Is it true that inkjet technology is now equivalent to the traditional paper / chemical technology? There are certainly some really serious inkjet printers being made by Durst.

Re: Durst Lambda

can of worms, opened.

45-57-617

Sorry, I don't intend to open a can of worms. Its just that there is a significant amount of energy being put into inkjet from Durst. I have no opinion or experience with the recent print market I do admit so the question is genuine. I hope the responses are objective and factual!!

Steve I will try to be as objective and factual as I own a Durst Lambda76 so I have a bit of experience here- I have not heard that the lambda is dropped from its lineup.. you must know that this piece of equipment is over 15 year old technology but built like a tank to last and be productive. Its very possible that this indeed true as who today would be crazy enough to invest in this wonderful piece of equipment. When they can buy inkjet for under 15k.
    The lasers are the key to this unit , every thing else resembles a ferrari and is mechanical .. with that said the price of a lambda is installed and maintained even used more than a house is worth in the Toronto GTA.

They have new solid state lasers which I can buy,(actually stock pile a couple- mental note to self) each laser installed is over 15k to acquire and put in place , these lasers for my purposes last for years of work.
    There are three lasers RGB and this machine is a 8bit printer that accepts Adobe 1998 flattened tiff files. My harddrive can only hold 70 gigs of info so you can gage the year the box was designed.