Thread: 120mm lens choice

120mm lens choice

Hi there,
    I am new to 4x5 photography - I've just bought my 1st camera (tachihara view), and would like your thoughts on buying a lens in the 120mm category.
    I have seen the lauded Schneider 120mm/5.6 super symmar HM, and am very tempted (approx $1200), but have also been looking at other options:

Schneider super angulon 120/f8 (app. $280)

Fujinon W 125mm/5.6 (app. $280)

Is the image quality of the fujinon & angulon close to the SSHM? i am primarily doing studio shots, need a little bit of movement but not a lot, and am looking to print large (40inch long side), and in colour for an exhibition, so sharpness is needed.

any help would be appreciated...

thanks,
    martin

Re: 120mm lens choice

I think you’re gonna hear from a lot of fans of the Fuji 125mm/5.6 – $280 is a good price.

Small and light if you hike – w/ older versions having front threads 46mm, 52mm, and 55mm. All very fine in terms of weight and performance for landscape work ... that is, if you occasionally wander away from studio. ;^)

I once owned the 55mm version, and smiled every time I climbed the mountains.

BTW, I remember selling it to a forum member who was replacing his “very heavy” Schneider SA 120mm/8, and who was willing to sacrifice the SA’s larger image circle. As a studio person, you might be more interested in keeping that spec.

Lachlan 717

If I was going to drop $1200, I'd get a second hand Schneider 110mm SSX and forget the 120mm lenses.

But, in the real world, I went with the Schneider 120mm. I have only just got one, and the first roll (on a 6x17 pano) is breathtaking.

There might be equal 120mm lenses, but I cannot fathom one being better.

Unless it was a f5.6, rather than f8.
    Lachlan.

You miss 100% of the shots you never take. -- Wayne Gretzky

My favorite 120s are the apo symmar if you need small and light, and the nikon 120/8 sw if you need the coverage. Both reasonablyriced, usually.