Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
Results 31 to 38 of 38

Thread: Creo IQ Smart 2 or 3 workflow

  1. #31

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    84

    Re: Creo IQ Smart 2 or 3 workflow

    Dear Sandy,
    Thank you. I actually use Masks now as I don't want to risk rescanning (Even though I actually enjoy scanning) but time is really tight as work and family prevent me from really enjoy scanning as I used to .

    I usually scan and edit the photos few days later (sometimes weeks) and I noticed some flare on two scans (I didn'r bother rescan them), but to avoid the issue, I use masks now. If I find Newton rings I will have to rescan as I really hate those ugly rings.

    I ordered the oil mount station and masks (with new base Glass) and waiting to use it once it arrive. I have many negative (Color) that was ruined from the Lab and Very old negatives that would benefit from oil mounting (At least I hope so).

    Thanks again.

  2. #32

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    84

    Re: Creo IQ Smart 2 or 3 workflow

    I just received the oil mounting station. WOW that thing is huge metal piece of art

    I need to find a solution regarding place it above a light table as my small light table won't stand this abuse

    I'm a bit nervous using the fluid mount, but I'll try it sooner than later.


    Sandy, Brian K and other creo/Kodak users why not creat a thread exchange ideas, tips, workflow...etc. like the screen cezanne users? Just thinking out loud

  3. #33

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    84

    Re: Creo IQ Smart 2 or 3 workflow

    I just did my first fluid scan and it was disaster. If someone has tips to success in fluid scanning, please share them here.

  4. #34

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    5,418

    Re: Creo IQ Smart 2 or 3 workflow

    Quote Originally Posted by mob81 View Post
    I just did my first fluid scan and it was disaster. If someone has tips to success in fluid scanning, please share them here.
    Have a look at this fluid mounting demonstration by Aztek.

    http://www.aztek.com/KAMI_FAQ.html

    The fundamentals can be applied to fluid mounting with any flatbed scanner.

    Once you have done this right a few times you will be amazed at how simple it is to fluid mount on a flatbed scanner.

    Sandy
    http://www.sandykingphotography.com/
    For discussion and information about carbon transfer please visit the carbon group at groups.io
    [url]https://groups.io/g/carbon

  5. #35

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    84

    Re: Creo IQ Smart 2 or 3 workflow

    Quote Originally Posted by sanking View Post
    Have a look at this fluid mounting demonstration by Aztek.

    http://www.aztek.com/KAMI_FAQ.html

    The fundamentals can be applied to fluid mounting with any flatbed scanner.

    Once you have done this right a few times you will be amazed at how simple it is to fluid mount on a flatbed scanner.

    Sandy
    Dear sandy,
    I really hope so, I just hated the mess it created. I'll try later with less film (1-2 frames of 6x6)

  6. #36

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    84

    Re: Creo IQ Smart 2 or 3 workflow

    Second Try is much better and better controlled oil on Glass... Mainly I see smoother image and not sharper, which is also good as enlarging 35mm film was problematic of Portra 400 for me. Even with Ektar 35mm, it's smoother.

  7. #37
    Matt G
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    14

    Re: Creo IQ Smart 2 or 3 workflow

    Quote Originally Posted by mob81 View Post
    I ordered the oil mount station and masks (with new base Glass) and waiting to use it once it arrive.
    From where did you order your oil mounting station?

  8. #38

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    84

    Re: Creo IQ Smart 2 or 3 workflow

    Quote Originally Posted by PhotoToyo View Post
    From where did you order your oil mounting station?
    From Ryan newton.

Similar Threads

  1. Creo IQ SMART 2. Reparation
    By ana in forum Digital Hardware
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 17-Dec-2010, 06:05
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 3-Apr-2010, 20:51
  3. Creo Smart, Eversmart and iQSmart scanners?
    By Henry Ambrose in forum Digital Hardware
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 8-Feb-2005, 16:56

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •