Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: converting sinar dmb mounted lens to copal

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Utah, USA
    Posts
    43

    converting sinar dmb mounted lens to copal

    Is it possible to unscrew the elements of a sinar dbm mounted lens and screw them into a regular copal shutter? Specifically I am thinking of moving something like a nikkor 300 f9 (that often comes in a copal 1 shutter) into a copal 1 shutter. I just want to make sure the sinar mounted lenses don't have different threads or spacings.
    Thanks,
    Seth

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Northern Virginia
    Posts
    5,263

    Re: converting sinar dmb mounted lens to copal

    Quote Originally Posted by sethlatimer View Post
    Is it possible to unscrew the elements of a sinar dbm mounted lens and screw them into a regular copal shutter? Specifically I am thinking of moving something like a nikkor 300 f9 (that often comes in a copal 1 shutter) into a copal 1 shutter. I just want to make sure the sinar mounted lenses don't have different threads or spacings.
    They are threaded the same way as standard shutters. Yes, you should be able to move the cells to a standard shutter. You'll have to make an aperture scale, of course.

    Rick "suspecting Copal made the DBM mounts just as they make the auto-aperture shutter that goes with them" Denney

  3. #3
    Scott Walker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Okotoks (rural), Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    955

    Re: converting sinar dmb mounted lens to copal

    I have the copal shutters for my db mounted lenses and it does appear that they were just unscrewed from the copal shutters and screwed onto the sinar mount.

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Utah, USA
    Posts
    43

    Re: converting sinar dmb mounted lens to copal

    Cool, thanks for your help.
    Seth

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Massachusetts USA
    Posts
    8,236

    Re: converting sinar dmb mounted lens to copal

    I have gone the other way: I've mounted lenses which were purchased new in Copal shutters, into Sinar DB boards.

    Actually, I use them interchangeably, depending on the camera: just unscrew from one, and screw into the other.

    It's an attractive option.

  6. #6

    Re: converting sinar dmb mounted lens to copal

    Is the only difference between "DBM" and "DB" mount the absence of any manual control of aperture on the latter?

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Sullivan, IL
    Posts
    760

    Re: converting sinar dmb mounted lens to copal

    Yes

Similar Threads

  1. Copal/Sinar shutter mounted on a Reisekamera - first attempt!
    By Steven Tribe in forum Cameras & Camera Accessories
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 31-Aug-2011, 15:42
  2. Sinar-mounted lens: Shouldn't it open all the way ?
    By Ken Lee in forum Lenses & Lens Accessories
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 24-Mar-2010, 11:20
  3. Converting Sinar DB to barrel lens.
    By Ben R in forum Lenses & Lens Accessories
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 27-Oct-2007, 16:30

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •