Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Any thoughts on the Gitzo GT 3541L?

Any thoughts on the Gitzo GT 3541L?

I've been using an aluminum Benro tripod, I forget which one, and it basically works ok but it's a little flexible. On top of that, the center column is seized up, I can't loosen it to extend it (not that I use it too often, but still). I have a shooting trip to Mumbai coming up in the very near future, and the last thing I wanted was to rely on (what I consider to be) an unreliable piece of kit.

So I decided to bite the bullet and go for a decent tripod. I bought the Benro when I was just experimenting with 4x5, but now I'm committed to the format and am happy with my entire kit other than the tripod.

I considered my options for a while but I needed to make a choice so I have time to test out whatever I get before my trip. I ordered a GT 3541L today...was it the right choice?

Just looking for any experiences since it's a pricey tripod and I want to make sure it's up to the task. I did consider a 5-series, but they're very heavy and large for travel. Ultimately for use close to home and in the car I'd love one of those Gitzo Giant tripods. But this one is intended as a general use and travel tripod.

I'm shooting mostly with a Linhof Master Technika 2000, my longest lens is 300mm. The head will be a Linhof 3-way leveling head (3663). I also sometimes work with a Technikardan 45S which isn't much heavier than the Technika but it has a higher profile. I sometimes use a Manfrotto 410 geared head, but not too often.

Will this be a good combo? Should I have gone all the way for a 5-series? Is aluminum better and/or more durable?

Re: Any thoughts on the Gitzo GT 3541L?

I woulda asked this BEFORE I ordered Yikes! That's a lotta $$$$$. What do you need the center column for?