Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: seperating pack film into sheets

seperating pack film into sheets

Ok, so I am new to LF, but have been in photography for a long time now and I have found that no matter what the hinderance may be there is always somone who is able to overcome it.

I want to use instant films in a Polaroid 545i film holder, which does not allow for the use of pack film. While ebay has plenty of polaroid 4x5 sheet films available most of them cost way too much. There are, however plenty of inexpensive Fuji and Polaroid pack films also available, so I wanted to know if some enterprising person out there knows of a way to seperate pack film into usable individual sheets which could be used in a 545i.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Re: seperating pack film into sheets

I do not have the answer you seek. Some information that may be of interest.

You may be able to buy integral 4x5 film off the shelf:

http://new55project.blogspot.com/

in the not to distant future.

The Fuji pack instant consists of two pieces, the negative and positive paper. While in the pack, they are not in close contact. When processed thru the roller they paste together due to the chemicals. To make a integral film one would the to pull the sheets out of the pack and attach the paper portion to an envelope system so the exposure could be controlled. This seems a tall order. Even something as simple as re-loading a Ready Load would be a challenge.

Regards,

Tim

4x5 instant pack film is no longer manufactured by Fuji, which might be worth bearing in mind if you really wanted to experiment with making your own 4x5 sheet instant film from 4x5 pack film. The smaller pack film is still in production.

Best,
    Helen

Helen,
    Is the news of Fuji's, 4 X 5 instant pack, total demise, straight from Fuji?
    Is this world wide, or is 4 X 5 color still being produced for Japan/Asian markets?
    Any links?
    Marc