Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Color Correction Filters - Necessary for E6 Scanning Workflow?

Color Correction Filters - Necessary for E6 Scanning Workflow?

I only started shooting film this year after shooting digital for the past 6. For the most part I've been able to color balance in post, but I think it would be easier if the chromes were color balanced from the start. However, the big downside is the extra time to setup, I missed an amazing clearing mist shot this weekend because I couldn't get setup in time after already waiting for an hour for the light to be right, adding filter setup time (especially if bothering with a color meter) wouldn't have made it any shorter

So - Do you recommend using color correction filters in an E6=>Scan work flow?

* I'm shooting outdoor landscape exclusively, using Provia (sometimes Ektar neg when I need the range).

Recommended filters to start?

Re: Color Correction Filters - Necessary for E6 Scanning Workflow?

Quote Originally Posted by John Rodriguez View Post
    I missed an amazing clearing mist shot this weekend because I couldn't get setup in time after already waiting for an hour for the light to be right...
    Umm, John, what were you doing during that hour you spent waiting for the light?

When I'm shooting E6 films in cloudy conditions or shade, I like an 81B filter. It only takes a few seconds to screw a filter onto a lens. No need for a color meter.
    Never is always wrong; always is never right.

www.LostManPhoto.com
    www.MarkStahlkePhotography.com

Quote Originally Posted by Mark Stahlke View Post
    Umm, John, what were you doing during that hour you spent waiting for the light?
    Waiting to see where I was. Visibility was about 25 feet through the fog, so I couldn't find my exact composition until it started to clear (I'd scouted the location the previous day but couldn't find it in the mist).