Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: CALTAR-S II 210mm f5.6 Vs Schneider Kreuznach Symmar 210 5.6

CALTAR-S II 210mm f5.6 Vs Schneider Kreuznach Symmar 210 5.6

I was hoping that those who know the differences of the two lenses and are willing to chime in.

I have Google'd, I have wiki'ed, I have done all the regular searches. Now I ask the people that know. I have cells for both lenses.

I want to know your thoughts on each of them. Which one is considered the better lens and why. The Caltar-S-II is considerably larger I know size doesn't mean much, it is just an observation.

I made a video (link here) to show you exactly what I am talking about. I know I will get the, "Just go shoot them and see what you get", so I will go ahead and take that out of the dialog, Thanks for taking your time to watch/read and respond to this thread, AKf

Re: CALTAR-S II 210mm f5.6 Vs Schneider Kreuznach Symmar 210 5.6

I think the Caltar has the larger image circle.
    I have no experience with convertible lenses, but I've rarely heard people say good things about the "converted" lens' performance.
    Apart from that, I would imagine it'd be difficult to see the differences until you make ginormous enlargements.
    And, finally, you know what I'm gonna say... , especially if you are going to make a Caltar/Schneider sandwich.

Akfreak, I think the Caltar-S II is a Symmar-S. If it is one made after1977 if would be marked MC for multicoated. Unconverted, it would be a better lens than the plain Symmar. The Symmar-S is not generally considered convertible but perhaps with the early ones they marked them that way in case someone wanted to try it. The plain Symmar may be somewhat better as a converted lens.

I pam to shoot each as a complete unit, then shot in the various combos, both good cells, both bad cells, and switch good/bad, vice versa.