Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

Thread: 10x enlargement to 40x50

10x enlargement to 40x50

Got my darkroom up and running, somewhat. I can tray process my negs, at least. But I need to enlarge these little dudes to poster size, somewhere around 40x50 if not bigger...

beyond buying this paper, what enlarger do I need? 4x5 negs to a 40x50 print. Maybe with some cropping. So, preferably, and with room to spare, something that could enlarge a 4x5 to an 80x100? I'm not kidding around here, though I acknowledge my ignorance might make me sound stupid. I figure aroung 1500 dollars would do the trick but what brand what model, etc?

This is B&W.

Re: 10x enlargement to 40x50

Any reason you wouldn't go digital for this large of a print? Drum scan the negs and go to town.

I'm no expert but anything past 11x14 I'm definitely doing the hybrid digital thing.
    Bryan | Blog | YouTube | Instagram | Portfolio
    All comments and thoughtful critique welcome

David,
    The enlarger is not what will cost you, it is the glass.

A 40x50 is just getting into the peak range for a 150 Rodagon-G (10-40x with 20x being optimal).

A 120 WA is 4-15x with 6x being optimal.
    The Apo Rodagon N is as above but requires normal enlarger height while the WA requires only about 70 percent of the height the N requires.
    (A normal Rodagon 135 or 150 is 2-10x with 6 being optimal).

I fell upon a Durst 1200 with a color head, I almost did not keep it having a 138 already. It is a great enlarger and would make anyone happy I have no doubt.
    A Durst 138 is a beauty too, and even if you only use up to 4x5, it is a total pleasure to print with. Neither are that dear these days. I bet the glass will set you back more than the enlarger.

The Durst 184 would be a great bet for prints that large. Rock solid. Tall and made like a finely machined tank! :-)