Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Flash Sync for a Copal 1 Shutter

  1. #1

    Flash Sync for a Copal 1 Shutter

    Does a Copal Shutter (specifically a #1) sync at all speeds? Can I shoot at 1/4 00 with it?

    I plan on having a model over tomorrow and this will be the first time that I ha ve used my 4x5.

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Sep 1998
    Location
    GA
    Posts
    12,723

    Flash Sync for a Copal 1 Shutter

    All leaf shutters, including a Copal 1, synch electronic flash at all speeds if it has a flash connector.

  3. #3

    Flash Sync for a Copal 1 Shutter

    Thanks, Bob.

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Mar 1998
    Posts
    1,972

    Flash Sync for a Copal 1 Shutter

    what flash are you using it with? If you are shooting Polaroid you should try syncing it at 1/125, 1/250th & 1/400th. If the first two are equalling well exposed (assuming no ambient light and constant aperture) and the 1/400th is darker you might be clipping part ofthe flash duration. This won't be a problem with a small flash like a Vivitar 283 but with some larger systems it might be. For instancethe Profoto Acute 2400 haas a full power flash duration (meauredat t/0.5 ) of 1/160th.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Mar 1998
    Posts
    1,972

    Flash Sync for a Copal 1 Shutter

    what flash are you using it with? If you are shooting Polaroid you should try syncing it at 1/125, 1/250th & 1/400th. If the first two are equalling well exposed (assuming no ambient light and constant aperture) and the 1/400th is darker you might be clipping part ofthe flash duration. This won't be a problem with a small flash like a Vivitar 283 but with some larger systems it might be. For instancethe Profoto Acute 2400 has a full power flash duration (meauredat t/0.5 ) of 1/160th.

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Mar 1998
    Posts
    1,972

    Flash Sync for a Copal 1 Shutter

    what flash are you using it with? If you are shooting Polaroid you should try syncing it at 1/125, 1/250th & 1/400th. If the first two are equalling well exposed (assuming no ambient light and constant aperture) and the 1/400th is darker you might be clipping part ofthe flash duration. This won't be a problem with a small flash like a Vivitar 283 but with some larger systems it might be. For instancethe Profoto Acute 2400 has a full power flash duration (meaured at t/0.5 ) of 1/160th.

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Mar 1998
    Posts
    1,972

    Flash Sync for a Copal 1 Shutter

    What flash are you using it with? If you are shooting Polaroid you should try syncing it at 1/125, 1/250th & 1/400th. If the first two are equally well exposed (assuming no ambient light and constant aperture) and the 1/400th is darker you might be clipping part of the flash duration. This won't be a problem with a small flash like a Vivitar 283 but with some larger systems it might be. For instance: the Profoto Acute 2400 has a full power flash duration (meaured at t/0.5 ) of 1/160th.

    "t/0.5" is a measurement used to measure just the length of time the flash is emitting 50% or more light. There is another measurement, "t/0.1", which measures the length of time the flash is emitting 10% or more of the light. Both are industry standards but t/0.1 lets you know what the real motion stopping capability is ofthe flash.

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Mar 1998
    Posts
    1,972

    Flash Sync for a Copal 1 Shutter

    Sorry for all the repetition, I was trying to correct grammar mistakes and then decided to add info at the end.

  9. #9

    Flash Sync for a Copal 1 Shutter

    When you use an electronic flash with your Copal shutter make sure that you've selected X and not M. M is for bulb flash and X for electronic flash. If you select M the electronic flash will NOT synch with the shutter and your photograph will fail.

    Now newer Copal 1 shutters will only have X synch - as is the case with my 300 Nikkor M. But older Copal 1's will have both X and M and - again - that's the case with my Schneider Symmar 210.

    I point this out because I use my LF stuff in the field and so I rarely do any work with LF and flash. All of my other formats are modern and they just don't have M or FP synch anymore. So it's not something that I check.

    Well after I ruined a sheet of Polaroid film at a recent LF studio flash shoot, I started to go through a "what happened" check list. And there it was, my 210 sitting happily on M. I checked all of my other lenses and two others were sitting on M as well, time bombs waiting to go off. Oi!

  10. #10

    Flash Sync for a Copal 1 Shutter

    Ellis, I was using two SP-Systems Excalubur 3200 and a cheapo Britek 150ws for a hair light. I decided to sync at 250 like I was doing with my N90s for consistency. If that really matters.

    David, The Copal 1 on my Schnieder Symmar 210 does not have either a M or X as a shutter option it goes B, T, 1 - 400. I suppose it may be a newer one that only considers Electronic Flash. Maybe?

    As for my results. I plan to take them to the lab tomorrow we will see. I know that I hosed three sheets due to removing the slide with the shutter open. Grrr.

Similar Threads

  1. Rapax flash sync
    By Patrick Thrush in forum Lenses & Lens Accessories
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 23-May-2005, 20:08
  2. flash sync with large format
    By brian steinberger in forum Lenses & Lens Accessories
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2-Feb-2005, 22:20
  3. flash sync on LF lens without sync term (compound shutter)
    By Mike Netecke in forum Lenses & Lens Accessories
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 22-Jun-2004, 09:21
  4. Two prong flash sync cords?
    By TAN K H in forum Lenses & Lens Accessories
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 22-Mar-1999, 01:31
  5. "2nd Curtain" flash syncronization with Copal-type Shutter
    By Larry Huppert in forum Style & Technique
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 9-Dec-1998, 15:09

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •