Thread: Choosing a view camera

Choosing a view camera

Good morning all,

I'm a newbie (albeit long-time lurker) here, and would appreciate the benefit of others' experience in a choice I'm about to make.

I'm looking for a monorail camera as my first LF (Why monorail? Flexibility, abundance in the market at reasonable prices, not being too concerned about portability). I have provisionally narrowed the choice down to some specifics.

1. A local seller is offering a Graflex Graphic View with a couple of lenses and various holders etc. -- I have yet to see the age and condition, and would want to negotiate on price, since I think the seller is being a little optimistic in their asking price, BUT local is good, since I live very far away from major markets, so shipping is expensive.

2. Importing something from the likes of KEH or another reliable dealer. I have in mind something in the Sinar F family. This will likely cost more (but not ridiculously so) but be a more modern camera with better part availability etc.

SO, is there any particular reason to either go for or avoid either of these options?

I'd appreciate others' experience

Kind regards,
    Halford

Re: Choosing a view camera

A Sinar F2 is a great camera, and full of features that make shooting easy(once you've understood the system and all its quirkiness ), and ease of extra accessories(if you want them) makes it a very open-ended system. I owned an F2 for 6 months, and regret selling it. I'm now shooting another model 8x10 camera, but use a 4x5 back as well on it sometimes, but the Sinar still has a very fond place in my heart.

That is MY recommendation.

FYI: IF you decide to go with a Sinar, I'd HIGHLY recommend getting a Sinar Pan/Tilt head to use with it, its designed for Sinar cameras, and will give many years of faithful service. They're worth their weight in gold!

cheers,

Dan

Both options are viable, but in the short term, buying local is your best bet.