Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Solarized Negative Questions

Solarized Negative Questions

I saw these wonderful images in the 'Nudes' thread and I wanted to break this out so that I could understand the technique a little better.

Quote Originally Posted by gandolfi View Post
    Painted with light - negative solarized.

pol 665

hi David.

that's easy - but now more difficult...

The negative was polaroid 665 (and this also goes for the Type55).

The negative begs to be solarized! just overexpose one aperture - pull out the film, and let it develop for maybe 10 seconds - then pull the positive from the negative and re-flash the negative - let it sit for a couple of minutes, and there you are....

difficult, as the films are increasingly difficult to find (and now excessively expensive..)

Another example: Stine is painted with light while she is moving the dress.. like dancing..

Gandolfi,

I'm new to this and I'd like to try to replicate your process but I don't understand how you have done this. For some reason I have 4 packs of 665 in the freezer just waiting for a good project... this seems perfect. Would you mind walking me slowly through?

Let's say I'm in the studio and I have a subject with a meter reading of say f16 at 1/60.

Step 1: I open to f8 at 1/60 right?
    Step 2: Click
    Step 3: Peel apart after 10 seconds right?
    Step 4: Here's where I'm lost. You say that you 'reflash the negative' but I don't know what that means. How do I reflash a negative? Am I tossing away the positive?

Please help me Great Gandolfi, you're my only hope!

Best Regards,
    PJ

Re: Solarized Negative Questions

Here is a recent one of mine (Polaroid T55).

With my out-dated T55 (exp. around 1995), I am finding that I must pull the packet apart rather quickly (5 sec) and have the flash at ready. Even processed normally the negatives seem to be low in contrast.

Artichoke Flowers, 2011
    T55 Negative was solarized
    Scanned contact print.