Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Processing 16bit files in ACR?

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    86

    Processing 16bit files in ACR?

    I recognized that i can open my 16/48bit scans in Adobe Raw Converter. It seems that i can do the same things (white balance for example!) i can do with digital raw files. The results look awesome so far! Does someone else of you work this way? It looks like i do not have to use cc filters any more...

  2. #2

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Westminster, MD
    Posts
    1,654

    Re: Processing 16bit files in ACR?

    Sure when the image calls for it, but it is best to correct as much as possible at the time of making the image.
    When I grow up, I want to be a photographer.

    http://www.walterpcalahan.com/Photography/index.html

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    9,472

    Re: Processing 16bit files in ACR?

    Yep works great!

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    86

    Re: Processing 16bit files in ACR?

    is there technically a difference between 16 bit /48 bit files and real digital raw files?

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    9,472

    Re: Processing 16bit files in ACR?

    Unless you're shooting from a medium-format digital back, all the DSLRs are 12 or 14-bit at best. I don't know what an Espon Scanner really is. I think a good drum scanner (not all of them) will deliver true 16-bit information.

    It doesn't matter, you have to manipulate the image. I like using ACR because you do all the moves in one operation, which is less destructive that making a dozen or more smaller moves in Photoshop.

    I think. I gave up trying to be definitive, I just do what works.

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    141

    Re: Processing 16bit files in ACR?

    I missed using ACR, when switching back to film...

    numpty question - how do I do this then? I use Silverfast as a CS5 plug in, and I also use Nikon scan for 35mm which gives me TIFFs. These open up straight in CS5 rather than using ACR - what am I doing wrong - do I need to save as a different format?

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    106

    Re: Processing 16bit files in ACR?

    David, you can set up ACR in Photoshop to open JPEG and TIFF files in addition to RAW files. For this, go to the Camera Raw Preferences (by clicking on the Camera Raw Preferences... button in Photoshop's File Handling preferences). At the bottom of the Camera Raw preferences window, you can set your preferences for JPEG and TIFF handling.

    Cheers,
    Andreas
    To infinity - and beyond...

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    141

    Re: Processing 16bit files in ACR?

    cheers - I'll give that a go!

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    9,472

    Re: Processing 16bit files in ACR?

    On Mac-CS5 I open them into ACR from Adobe Bridge, Apple-R allows you to open them in ACR or double-click to open directly in Photoshop.

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Dec 1997
    Location
    Baraboo, Wisconsin
    Posts
    7,695

    Re: Processing 16bit files in ACR?

    Quote Originally Posted by Mark_Se View Post
    I recognized that i can open my 16/48bit scans in Adobe Raw Converter. It seems that i can do the same things (white balance for example!) i can do with digital raw files. The results look awesome so far! Does someone else of you work this way? It looks like i do not have to use cc filters any more...
    And after you open an image and save it to a file in Photoshop you can still re-open it in Camera Raw by right-clicking on the thumbnail in Bridge and clicking on the menu line that says something like "Open In Camera Raw." Just in case you like working with some tool or feature in Camera Raw better than in Photoshop.
    Brian Ellis
    Before you criticize someone, walk a mile in their shoes. That way when you do criticize them you'll be
    a mile away and you'll have their shoes.

Similar Threads

  1. Help-- corrupted Photoshop files!!
    By chris jordan in forum Digital Hardware
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 30-Sep-2011, 17:00
  2. processing 8x10 (B&W) with unicolor motor base and tube
    By lenser in forum Darkroom: Film, Processing & Printing
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 29-Aug-2011, 10:57
  3. Microtek Artixscan 2500f disassembly for cleaning?
    By Gene McCluney in forum Digital Hardware
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 15-Oct-2009, 14:08
  4. Advice request: Starting my own 4x5 processing
    By marschp in forum Darkroom: Film, Processing & Printing
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 5-Nov-2007, 15:56
  5. How Much Ram for Digital Processing?
    By Michael Heald in forum Digital Processing
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 26-May-2006, 19:01

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •