Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: asking advice: I need more light for indoor portraits

asking advice: I need more light for indoor portraits

Hello,

I am a newbie asking for help for portraits to my nephew, eight months of age who never stands still.

I shoot Tri-x 320 with 150mm lens at maximum aperture (f5.6) in the hour of maximum light in the house and this gives me a exposure between 1/15 - 1/30 seconds .... but I NEED MORE LIGHT!

I have no flash, no reflector, no strobe, and no flash meter.

I do not know anything about lighting.

What should I buy? flash? flashmeter? strobe? monolight? umbrella? reflector?

... Do you know a low cost kit for indoor portraits?

Thanks

Re: asking advice: I need more light for indoor portraits

Kids don't sit still so you need to be able to shoot fast, and this means a lot of light. ALso with a lot of light you can use a smaller aperture, gain more DOF and worry less about focussing. The cheapest and quickest way for a lot of lighting indoors is to buy one of those hi-intensity halogen construction lights, and just bounce it off the ceiling or a wall (or both) to get even illumination all around a room. Then, chase down the kid and make them sit STILL!

Format Omnivore Brian C. Miller's Avatar

What sort of a living situation do you have?

My first thought is to put a reflector outside your house and reflect light in. Yes, there are many low-cost portrait kits. You can also get some work lights from a hardware store and use those.

As someone who has photograph his triplets boys since they were born, I recommend donkey downers to slow 'em down and a couple of puppy uppers to get them back up to speed once you are done...