Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Cheapest way to get into 8x10?

Cheapest way to get into 8x10?

I've been using a 4x5 field camera now for about 6 or 7 years. My primary output consists of scanning my negatives and printing the scans at Costco. I would like to move up to 8x10 and just do contact prints because I feel I can get a better image that way. What would be the cheapest route to 8x10?

Re: Cheapest way to get into 8x10?

Steal a camera, lens, holders and film. It doesn't get much cheaper than that.

Sorry, I couldn't help myself.....

Octogenarian

By "cheapest way", how much are you willing to you spend?

The cost of an 8x10 camera, a lens or two, film holders, film, possibly a heavier duty tripod and a larger dark cloth, soon begin to add up, even when purchasing used equipment.

In essence, it ain't cheap.

Format Omnivore Brian C. Miller's Avatar

8x10 pinhole camera: cooler found by the road, or a paint can. No holder needed, just some tape.

The cheapest new 8x10 is probably the Wehman at $2,200.00 for the regular model.

For cheap used, research Kodak 2D, Calumet C1 and Burke & James. Sometimes Toyo 8x10 monorails are pretty reasonable on Ebay also.

A Kodak 2D is one of the most affordable cameras on can find on the used market. The better deals are ones that have the extention rail and the sliding tripod bock -- both of which one can live without (unless one is using very long lenses.)

Good bellows, of course.

Holders -- some of the older wooden one can be bought at a cheap price -- otherwise expect 35 to 45 bucks for older plastic holders.

Lens -- depending on your imagery. Barrel lenses are relatively inexpensive -- fine if your exposure times will be a second or more (mine usually are). Semi-normal range is 270mm to 360mm. For lenses in shutters, keep an eye out for Calumet lenses -- usually a great value for re-branded German lenses.

If you don't mind a sizable camera, I bought a 8x10 Sinar P for about $800.