Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Triggering Strobes

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    178

    Red face Triggering Strobes

    I want to trigger strobes from my flash meter and from the lens sync so have bought a receiver and two triggers. I got these from Paul C. Buff for my WL 1600.

    I've used eBay triggers in the past with some success on my digital camera's hot shoe, but am wondering if I should expect this to work for my Copal shutters (I'd hate to lose shots on LF film due to trigger weirdness)?

    It looks like I'll have to use hot shoe to pc adapters to hang the transmitters off my shutter and flash meter. The receiver integrates into the strobe's power cord and also plugs into the 1/4" jack on the back of the strobe.


    Thanks for any info!
    sg

  2. #2
    Daniel Stone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Los Angeles area
    Posts
    2,157

    Re: Triggering Strobes

    I've used the $30 Hong Kong ebay triggers(16 channel version) without any problems for studio shooting with 35mm-8x10.

    no problems whatsoever. If you're feeling spendy, you can go with Pocketwizards(~$180/each, you'll need 2 minimum, btw), but if you're on a budget, you might just want to use the cheapy ones.

    buy 2 sets, just so you have a backup.

    as long as you don't have to go more than about 40-50 feet, and have fresh batteries installed, they work great. Just don't toss em around willy-nilly

    -Dan

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    9,487

    Re: Triggering Strobes

    Many of the transmitters have a mini-jack receptacle in addition to the live Hot Shoe, so you might find a mini-jack to PC cord which might be more direct/cleaner.

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,136

    Re: Triggering Strobes

    The cybersync's from PCB should trigger your flash no problem from
    your lens PC connection, if the lenses PC connector is working.
    Your triggers from PCB should come with a PC cord, I've hung them
    off my lenses no problem since they weight nothing.
    From your meter, then I suggest you get Pocket Wizard triggers,
    they will fire from your meter if you have a Sekonic meter with
    the trigger module. Or you could do what you said and use a hot shoe
    adapter to hook the Cybersync up, you'll have to separately trigger
    the flash to get your readings.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    St Paul, MN
    Posts
    620

    Re: Triggering Strobes

    I'm sorry if this is a thread jack but I don't feel my stupid question deserves its own thread!

    What cord do I need to trigger my strobes? I have the X switch and it looks like a PC connector there on the right but I didn't think this camera had a pc connector! Any help is appreciated.


  6. #6
    Peter De Smidt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Fond du Lac, WI, USA
    Posts
    9,013

    Re: Triggering Strobes

    It's a pc connector.
    “You often feel tired, not because you've done too much, but because you've done too little of what sparks a light in you.”
    ― Alexander Den Heijer, Nothing You Don't Already Know

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Regensburg, Germany
    Posts
    7

    Re: Triggering Strobes

    I have a stupid question too...

    I wanted to test the X-Sync on a Grandagon-N 90mm and I was surprised to see that it triggers twice. I used an Elinchrom Skyport to trigger a Canon Speedlight.

    Why do I have 2 strobes (the 2nd just before the shutter closed)? The shutter is a Copal #1, the Skyport works perfectly.

    Thanks,
    Sergiu

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Montgomery, Il. USA
    Posts
    552

    Re: Triggering Strobes

    Can you eliminate the skyport from the flash and shutter?

  9. #9
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Northern Virginia
    Posts
    5,614

    Re: Triggering Strobes

    Quote Originally Posted by Zaitz View Post
    The original lenses for the Graphics were equipped with shutters that connected to the flash through a "bipost" connector, assuming they had a flash sync at all. It's possible that the shutter and lens on this camera is original--it is a very late Crown top rangefinder Pacemaker and might have been made as late as 1973, and the lens's serial number dates to that year. But the lens is probably newer than the camera. It uses a PC connection, which is upper right in your picture.

    Rick "who would have expected a Compur shutter in any Xenar intended for a Graphic" Denney

  10. #10
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Northern Virginia
    Posts
    5,614

    Re: Triggering Strobes

    Quote Originally Posted by SergiuC View Post
    I have a stupid question too...

    I wanted to test the X-Sync on a Grandagon-N 90mm and I was surprised to see that it triggers twice. I used an Elinchrom Skyport to trigger a Canon Speedlight.

    Why do I have 2 strobes (the 2nd just before the shutter closed)? The shutter is a Copal #1, the Skyport works perfectly.

    Thanks,
    Sergiu
    Canon flashes trigger twice when in TTL mode. The first trigger is at low power to meter the scene. The slave controller may be trying too hard to emulate a camera with TTL operation. Try setting the mode of the flash to M, if you haven't already done so.

    Rick "who once made the mistake of trying to measure a Canon flash using a flash meter" Denney

Similar Threads

  1. Would you trust the HK Portable Strobes?
    By Ash in forum Style & Technique
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 16-Nov-2010, 03:20
  2. Aero ektar 2,5 Lens and Studio Strobes, Is it Posible?
    By lambis in forum Cameras & Camera Accessories
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 21-Oct-2009, 10:12
  3. Copal #1 shutter not syncing to strobes?
    By Klyment Tan in forum Lenses & Lens Accessories
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-Jun-2009, 20:17
  4. Large Format and Strobes
    By doncody in forum Cameras & Camera Accessories
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 11-Aug-2007, 07:15
  5. New to strobes, film ended up blank
    By Gary L. Quay in forum Style & Technique
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: 17-May-2007, 01:47

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •