Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Pushing Ektar 1 or 2 stops

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    271

    Pushing Ektar 1 or 2 stops

    Greetings,

    Does anyone have experience / information on pushing Ektar 100 by 1 or 2 stops. Nothing was found in this forum or the datasheet.

    Assuming it can be pushed how does one push C-41 (using the Rollei/Compard Digibase C-41 Mini Color Processing Kit)? The development time is 3:15 minutes for normal.

    A secondary question - How fast past expiration can one keep C-41 if it's in the freezer? I have had good luck with Chrome but not sure about C-41.

    Thanks,

    Tim

  2. #2
    StayAtHome Dad & Photog
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Hayward, WI
    Posts
    79

    Re: Pushing Ektar 1 or 2 stops

    Only in roll film and I'd suggest not to. The roll variety has about as little exposure latitude as E6. This review: http://www.rogerandfrances.com/subsc...tar%20100.html reflects my feelings quite well. When I finally shoot some in 4x5 I intend to shoot it at box only.
    4x5 and a Tessar is heaven
    "I beg to dream and differ from the hollow lies..." Green Day

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    271

    Re: Pushing Ektar 1 or 2 stops

    Hi William,

    Thanks for the quick response and link. I didn't realize Ektar was that touchy about exposure. I had some very good and some very bad images and was wondering what the problem was.

    The reason I was asking about this is it looks like color neg file in asa 400 / 8x10 is no more and push alternatives do not appear available.

    Thanks again for the very useful help.

    Best Regards,

    Tim

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    1,421

    Re: Pushing Ektar 1 or 2 stops

    Tim, I would think that Portra 160NC would be a much better candidate for pushing than Ektar... However, you'll get pretty similar results processing 160NC normally and digitally "pushing" the file in Photoshop. The biggest problem in both cases (pushing and Photoshop) is that you can't make up for shadow detail that's simply not there.

    In my experience, C41 ages well at low temperatures. It will lose a little speed over time (maybe half a stop every few years), and it will get a little grainier. Any change in color is hard for me to judge, since my scanning process eliminates a lot of those differences.

  5. #5

    Re: Pushing Ektar 1 or 2 stops

    I should point out that Canham cameras may be able to put together a bulk order for Kodak Portra 400 in 8x10" according to Scott DiSabato of Kodak.

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    24

    Re: Pushing Ektar 1 or 2 stops

    Take this with several grains of salt, but I've found in 35mm/120 with scanning, Ektar 100 at EI 200 with no development push but compensation in Photoshop didn't look too bad. Sure you lose some shadow detail, but it might work for you.

    I've not found similar results to what Roger Hicks found. To be honest, his side by side comparison of proper exposure and 1 stop over looks the opposite of what I would expect. The shot with more exposure has less shadow detail?

    Here were some of my tests - no adjustments to developing, all corrections done during scanning. flickr link

    To make a long story short - I get a latitude range of exactly what Kodak says: -1/+2. Maybe a bit higher on the overexposure side.

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    271

    Re: Pushing Ektar 1 or 2 stops

    Quote Originally Posted by Ben Syverson View Post
    Tim, I would think that Portra 160NC would be a much better candidate for pushing than Ektar... However, you'll get pretty similar results processing 160NC normally and digitally "pushing" the file in Photoshop. The biggest problem in both cases (pushing and Photoshop) is that you can't make up for shadow detail that's simply not there.

    In my experience, C41 ages well at low temperatures. It will lose a little speed over time (maybe half a stop every few years), and it will get a little grainier. Any change in color is hard for me to judge, since my scanning process eliminates a lot of those differences.
    Hi Ben,

    Thanks for your input! The fact one can stash this stuff is good news. I placed and order for some 400nc and 160nc 160vc all in 8x10.

    I would rather not push in photoshop but get the best exposure possible.

    Greatly appreciate your time and expertise.

    Best Regards,

    Tim

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    271

    Re: Pushing Ektar 1 or 2 stops

    Quote Originally Posted by Tom Kershaw View Post
    I should point out that Canham cameras may be able to put together a bulk order for Kodak Portra 400 in 8x10" according to Scott DiSabato of Kodak.

    Hi Tom,

    This is good news as the film will work nicely in my Canham 8x10. :-) I had written 8x10 / 400 Portra off completely but maybe there will be hope. I hadn't thought about Canham's film bulk order but will keep Keith in mind as my (just ordered) supplies run out.

    My concern is to be able to shoot 8x10 at 400 for both indoor and landscape and it seems like the high speed 8x10 color neg film is going away - unless I missed something.

    Thanks and Regards,

    Tim

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    271

    Re: Pushing Ektar 1 or 2 stops

    Quote Originally Posted by Tim Gray View Post
    Take this with several grains of salt, but I've found in 35mm/120 with scanning, Ektar 100 at EI 200 with no development push but compensation in Photoshop didn't look too bad. Sure you lose some shadow detail, but it might work for you.

    I've not found similar results to what Roger Hicks found. To be honest, his side by side comparison of proper exposure and 1 stop over looks the opposite of what I would expect. The shot with more exposure has less shadow detail?

    Here were some of my tests - no adjustments to developing, all corrections done during scanning. flickr link

    To make a long story short - I get a latitude range of exactly what Kodak says: -1/+2. Maybe a bit higher on the overexposure side.
    Hi Tim,

    That is some nice work you put together, thanks for sharing this. The zero-stop image has a nice linear curve on the 20 step contrast chart. That image is very good and nice job on all the scans.

    Thanks very much.

    Tim

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    1

    Re: Pushing Ektar 1 or 2 stops

    One time I was shooting Ektar on 35mm I shot it at 200 with out realizing it. I didn't see too much of a loss in quality there. I would think if 35mm would do it, so would LF. Here is a like to a shoot from said roll on my DA

Similar Threads

  1. Question: Kodak Commercial Ektar lenses for 4X5 view camera
    By FLC in forum Lenses & Lens Accessories
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 21-Sep-2010, 08:13
  2. Third Stops, H&D Curves, Light Meters
    By John Cook in forum Style & Technique
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-Aug-2004, 17:58
  3. Ektar coating reflections
    By Mark Erickson in forum Lenses & Lens Accessories
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 26-Apr-2004, 11:48
  4. Information about the Kodak Ektar 127mmm/4,7 and WF Ektar 80mm/6.3
    By Volker Schlichting in forum Lenses & Lens Accessories
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 22-Nov-2000, 12:29

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •