Thread: available light outdoors

available light outdoors

I'm a year into LF now and enyoing it a lot. All the tips and tricks posted by t his forum members were an enormous help. A friend visited me this weekend and wh en he saw something of my B&W stuff, he asked me if I could take some pictures o f him and his girlfriend. NO studiowork but outdoor with available light. In col or. Thats my problem! I have no experience with color but I like to try it. I,m not going to process the film myself but take it to a profi-lab. I,m only having a starters outfit that is; cambo sc-2;210 mm lens;My questions a re: what film to use; can my 210 mm do the job;what other things do I need. all tips and advises are welcome.

available light outdoors

Why use the LF for portraits ? It's somewhat overkill, expensive, and not required unless your friends require huge enlargements.

Do you and your friends a favour and use 35mm with Portra NC 160 or 400 in the shade, or in brighter light with a little fill flash. For the price of five developed sheets you could easily shoot a full roll of Portra, and have room for more poses and misses.

Don't want to discourage you, but sheet film and experimentation can become tiresome and expensive - and 35mm can do the job quite well.

available light outdoors

Sure, the 210 will do fine for full lengths, 3/4 but would be for a head and shoulders a 240-360 would give better compression. The 210 is a "slight" tele for 4x5 so it will look good. As far as color, Shoot some of the 400 Portra. It has a great tonal range, grain is small and tight and it will give a good usable shutter speed. Take the care shooting the color as you would your B/W and you will be fine. What I would do... have the couple posing with their back to the sun so you get a rim light around their heads and match the exposure by using a strobe to fill in the face nicely. Works great!

available light outdoors