Thread: How to prevent purple streaks on TMAX100 in Jobo 3005

How to prevent purple streaks on TMAX100 in Jobo 3005

I am a beginner at LF. I have started using a Jobo 3005 to process 8x10 TMAX 10 0 film. I have been using D76 and then fixing with plain jane Kodak fixer. I h ave been placing the emulsion side toward the hollow center. I am getting purpl e lines where the film apparently is overlapping. I am fixing for 13 minutes an d I am still having some problems. Any help or ideas would be greatly appreciat ed. Sincerely, Jerry

Jerry I'm going to suggest that the purple you see is the unfixed film due to the fixer not being able to reach it. T-MAX films are notoriously purple if incompletely fixed and refixing this film in a tray until the color disappears should do the trick.

What you might be seeing here is the antihalation layer. This is normally removed during development, but if you have the back of the film pressed against the side of a tube, it might not be entirely washed away.

With TMX, I've gotten purplish blue blobbies around the middle of 4x5 sheets.

You can remove them by soaking the film in a tray with Kodak hypo clear. Plain sodium carbonate in water will also do the trick. I've even used Rodinal to do this.

If this is your problem, you can remove the stain from fixed and dried film. Just soak until they look clear, then go for a while longer. Wash and dry again, of course.

Although I'm not familiar with the 3005 drum, I think you're getting undecoloriz ed dyes where the film presses against the drum walls.

You don't have to fix forever. Give a normal fix time, whatever Kodak recommen ds. Then fish the sheets out of the drum, give them a bath in hypo-clear in a tr ay, then wash and dry. For HCA you can use any commercial solution such as Orbit Bath, Heico Perma-Wash etc or you can mix your own by dissolving around 25g sod ium sulfite and 5g sodium bisulfite in a liter of water.