Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Emerging Student Majoring in Photography

Emerging Student Majoring in Photography

Hello,

I am a junior at Northern Arizona University, and I am majoring in photography. Back in high school when I took my first photo class, everything was still done in the darkroom and that is where I began to learn to print. Since then I have begun photographing with a large format camera, and I have been trying to learn as much as I possibly can about large format photography and printing. Thanks to a good friend, Rod Klukas, I now have a 4x5 enlarger. So I have built a darkroom in my apartment and I am printing everyday. Unfortunately, NAU is completely digital and teaches only commercial photography. And I consider my work fine art, and I shoot large format film. So I have kind of been having to teach myself everything that I know. I am going to be graduating in a couple of years, and will be out in the working world. I was wondering if anybody has any advice for a young large format photographer just beginning his career. Like where and how should I start, people that I should look up, what can I expect income wise if anything? I know that it may be difficult working as a large format photographer in this new age of digital imaging. But I have found something that I love, and I believe the format really suites me and I'm not willing to give it up.

Thank you very much for your time and advice!

Also feel free to check out some of my work. Suggestions, criticisms, and comments mean a lot coming from the individuals on this forum.

www.kyledeclerckphotography.blogspot.com

Andi Heuser

Re: Emerging Student Majoring in Photography

Hi Kyle,

my fist impression was, focus on wildlife!

sanchi

Thank you very much Sanchi, that means a lot!

Stuck inside of Tucson with the Neverland Blues again...

Hi, Kyle!