Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: New to LF.. 110B conversion or Linhof?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

New to LF.. 110B conversion or Linhof?

Hello everyone

I am looking to get a 4x5 camera that I can shoot Fuji instant film with. I want a camera that is easy to use and can give me great bokeh... ala Paolo Roversi.

I have been browsing and have found 2 cameras that seem to be the kind that I am looking for:

Linhof Technika IV

110B Byron with the 150mm/2.8 Xenotar lens

I am looking to spend less than $2000. I have seen all of these cameras on Ebay for about that.

The Technika IV looks like the most versatile, but it seems much heavier and difficult to use. The Byron looks like a great camera but there isn't much detail on the Xenotar conversion.

I have never used large format before but I have extensive experience with medium format and 35mm manual cameras.

Any advice?

Re: New to LF.. 110B conversion or Linhof?

It's the lens that creates the bokeh, not the camera. There's a lot of good info on this site, it is worth taking a look. In the mean time, you might consider picking up a good crown graphic with working rangefinder tuned to the lens - mine was $300 (though not with a xenotar). It might be worth a try before dropping 2 grand on a camera.

I can't say I've used either of these, but in general, with the polaroid conversions, you are more or less stuck with the one lens. You pay a fair amount of money for a compact box to put the film in (plus the "cool" factor). You'll want to think about exactly what kind of shooting you want to do before investing.

Cheers,
    Bill

I guess I should have been more specific about what I am shooting.

I am a fashion photographer. I want the dreamy look that you get from the tilt/shift properties of the large format camera.

image by Paolo Roversi