Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Used Durst 138S or a New Zone VI

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Used Durst 138S or a New Zone VI

Hello all,

I am in the process of shopping around for an enlarger to do my 5x7 work with. I 've come across a used (advertised as in excellent condition)Durst 138S with all the necessary condensers, no lens board and no lens, but a three lens turret. I am also considering a new Zone VI with a VC head, which I suspect may end up c osting a bit more than the used Durst, or close to the same once I pay a huge am ount of money for shipping the Durst.

Does anyone have any opinions on which would be the wiser choice, the used Durst 138S or a new Zone VI? Are there any other options for 5X7 that I'm missing as I am new to large format? Thanks to everyone for your help and input!!!!

I had a Zone VI VC setup and sold it. It was OK for 4x5, but with only blue & green light, I had trouble fo"cussing" smaller formats. You should realize that you are wasting 95% of the light on a 5x7 diffusion head when printing 35mm, which explains why the image was so dim. Also, the bellows didn't compress enough to make very large enlargements from smaller formats.

So I can recommend the Zone VI for 4x5, and it would likely be fine for 5x7, but don't expect it to handle all formats equally well. And, at least for the way I work, it had some drawbacks. The VC light source, though, was just fine.

On the other hand, I wanted to tighten the focussing mechanism because it was slipping a little, and couldn't get any real support out of Calumet.

I've always liked working with Durst products, so I suggest you check it out. If reasonably priced, I'd probably opt for it.

I saw a used Beseler 57 (kind of like a 45 on steroids) at my local photo store. It looked OK, so you might keep your eye's peeled for one of those.

Holy Cow, this one is a no brainer. THE DURST.