Thread: Hello LF world!

LF nub

Smile Hello LF world!

Hi all,

I just joined this forum after realizing that LFP had this page. I've been a frequent visitor to the homepage, reading reviews and technique ides for about nine months, and it took me this long to scroll down and realize there was a forum to sign up for. Doh!

I literally just got my first LF camera yesterday and I'm still super excited! I picked up a Sinar F2 in a nice little trade, and picked up a 90mm F8 Super Angulon in S.F. the same day. I'm still learning the movements on it, but can't wait to run some film through it. I got the 90mm SA because I read that it can cover 5x7 as well, and I'm interested in moving up to that size in the future, after I get a handle on the 4x5. I love wide angles and one of my favorite subject matters is degradation; in pretty much any form I can find it. Whenever possible I like to place interesting subject matter in the foreground, and this is the other reason for starting with the wide angle.

I am particularly interested in documenting old farm implements I can find, especially in the central valley of California where I currently live. I also love shooting old Oak trees. There's not much I won't shoot.

Other than the Sinar F2, I also currently own and shoot; a Hasselblad 500C/M w/60mm 3.5, a Mamiya 645 AFD w/80 2.8 & a 210mm 4 ULD, a Nikon N90S w/50mm, and a Nikon D40x w/18-55mm kit lens and the amazing 35mm 1.8 DX. I mostly use the digital for snaphots and family fun, and I use the film cameras to make my art.

It's a bit disturbing how fast I've accumulated all this stuff. It all got really serious Christmas 2008, after I got the Nikon D40X, and it just kind of snowballed from there. Since then all I've done is eat, sleep, and breathe photography. I read books on technique, creative ideas, and study every photo and every photographers work I can find.