Thread: Center neutral density filter

Center neutral density filter

New to large format...

I've never used a central ND filter before in photography (medium format and DSLR), but in the few large format shots I've taken with a 90mm lens before, I can see how one would be needed. Is there a rule or thumb or something that says how wide a lens is likely to be before you need to use one?

Re: Center neutral density filter

Quote Originally Posted by Sean Galbraith View Post
    New to large format...

I've never used a central ND filter before in photography (medium format and DSLR), but in the few large format shots I've taken with a 90mm lens before, I can see how one would be needed. Is there a rule or thumb or something that says how wide a lens is likely to be before you need to use one?
    For myself, and many others who have posted, the focal length at which a CF is required depends on what type of film is being used. Positive films have more inherent contrast than neg films and so a CF might be required at a longer focal length with a pos than with a neg film.

I shoot only neg and find I only need a CF on my 55mm. I somtimes use one on my 75, or even the 90 when using large movements.

Glenn Mellen

Just to expand a little on Ron's answer:

In addition to length of lens and film type used, subject matter also comes into play. For many if not most landscape, portraiture, and general genre photography the vignetting you get from not using a center filter is not objectionable, and in many cases can be beneficial to the image. But for instance, in architectural photography the vignetting is usually unwanted.

I shoot mainly color transparency landscapes (most often Velvia and Provia) and always use a center filter using a 75mm lens, and rarely on 90 or above.