Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Science V practice

Smile Science V practice

G'day,
    I am a real newbie, today I registered with the LFP forum. In way of introduction: I was a press photographer here in Australia. I worked the national newspapers. A Rollie man in the first part followed by Nikon. I recently retired and have had this penchant for large format. I now own a Sinar in 4x5, I have read "In and out of focus" and similar texts explaining the science behind camera movements. I (think) I understand the fundamentals but I have great difficulty in putting the science into practice.

My question is really looking for a practical assignment that will put a real life spin on what I have read. I don't appear to see on the ground glass the image variations that are explained in the text - is there a simple test I can try to help me see what I am supposed to see? I have 65mm and a 300mm lens' for the Sinar. I'm not sure where to from here.

Hoping for some assistance/guidance.

Re: Science V practice

I've seldom seen a conflict between science and practice, but it's important to look at the science most relevant to your situation. Like you, I don't see the differences described in The INs and OUTs of FOCUS, either on a groundglass or in a final image. This isn't to say that Merklinger got it wrong, but recall that he illustrated his points with huge enlargements, far larger than I'd ever consider. His approach well might apply to surveillance or forensic photography, where the ability to identify every possible object in the image may be the most important consideration. But for me, it's generally inapplicable.