Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Linhof Technica Replacement Bellow

Linhof Technica Replacement Bellow

I have a Linhof Master Technica Classic and the bellow is aged. I would like to replace with a new one. But I learnt that the original Linhof one is easy to get aged after years of usage. I'm looking for a replacement with better durability even under very cold condition, say -30 C. Would like to hear from any good recommendations.

Re: Linhof Technica Replacement Bellow

My lightly used Technika IV is on its third bellows (at about $400 a pop). The bellows on my 1928 Zeiss Maximar is still perfect, as are those on my elderly Pacemaker Speed and Crown Graphics. Apparently this is not unusual.
    IMO the one major improvement that Linhof could make to the Technika would be an interchangable bellows, as fitted to their monorails.
    Wilhelm (Sarasota)

Bill,

Your camera is between 53 and 46 years old. How do you know how heavily or lightly it was used over all those years?

Storage conditions and use are as important as any other conditions on how well a bellows stands up.

And, as pointed out last time you made this statement, the Technika bellows handles all lenses that can mount on the camera with full movements from 35mm to over 360mm. Why would they make it interchangeable? You never answered last time .

Quote Originally Posted by gchu1970 View Post
    I have a Linhof Master Technica Classic and the bellow is aged. I would like to replace with a new one. But I learnt that the original Linhof one is easy to get aged after years of usage. I'm looking for a replacement with better durability even under very cold condition, say -30 C. Would like to hear from any good recommendations.
    The only replacement that will perform with all lenses from 35mm to over 360mm and allow all movements and permit the camera to close properly is a Linhof Technika bellows.