Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How to start your own C-41 on jobo?

How to start your own C-41 on jobo?

I managed to develop my own E-6 on jobo, using Kodak's 5L E-6 kit. As I searched online, I don't find such a Kodak kit for C-41. What do I need to process c-41? I would like to have chemical in small amount.

Re: How to start your own C-41 on jobo?

Tetenal have C-41 in 1L and 5L packs. I develop my 8x10 slides in their E-6 chemicals and I am happy with the results even though I do not have the most accurate temperature control.
    Henry Valtonen, Helsinki
    -----------------------
    8x10" landscapes

Freestyle Photo sells C41 kits in several sizes

http://www.freestylephoto.biz/10123-...er?cat_id=1001

I have used this kit with decent results with both 120 roll film and 4x5 sheets

It is really pretty easy

I'm just getting started to and looking at these guys.

http://www.labdepot.com/

E-6 is very easy in the Jobo. C-41 is rather difficult because the developer time (color developer) is very short, only 3 min 15 sec. 4x5" is OK in the Expert 3010 but any bigger sheet is risky. The 5x7" or 8x10" color negative sheet is so expensive and the risk of uneven development is so high that I send it to a dependable lab in Germany. Take that from a guy that has run his own JOBO Autolab for 20 years.

http://www.4photolab.com
    http://www.colorservicesinc.com
    Those are dependable labs for big sheet C-41 processingin the US.

Head on over to APUG and spend some time in the Color Forum's archives. This topic has been discussed several times in the last few years and there are a number of interesting issues and solutions discussed there. The biggest issue perhaps is separate beach and fix vs. a combined "blix." There's at least one (retired) Kodak film engineer participating who makes excellent arguments for separating the bleach and fix steps. Well worth reading before you decide on a chemical kit.

Bruce Watson