Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Crop Tool Problem with CS3

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    5,465

    Crop Tool Problem with CS3

    I am suddenly experiencing a strange problem with the cropping tool in CS3. When I use the tool, select the area that should be cropped then apply the action, large files are suddenly reduced to nothing but two or three bytes. It happens with every file I have tried, regardless of mode or original size. Everything was working fine just a few days ago, and the problem appears to occur only with the crop tool. And so far as I can tell there are no problems with the computer, an Intel iMAC running OS 10.4.11. I have been using CS3 on this iMAC for well over 1.5 years with no previous issues.

    Anyone have a clue as to what might be causing this problem?

    Sandy King

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Mount Horeb, WI
    Posts
    960

    Re: Crop Tool Problem with CS3

    Quote Originally Posted by sanking View Post
    I am suddenly experiencing a strange problem with the cropping tool in CS3. When I use the tool, select the area that should be cropped then apply the action, large files are suddenly reduced to nothing but two or three bytes. It happens with every file I have tried, regardless of mode or original size. Everything was working fine just a few days ago, and the problem appears to occur only with the crop tool. And so far as I can tell there are no problems with the computer, an Intel iMAC running OS 10.4.11. I have been using CS3 on this iMAC for well over 1.5 years with no previous issues.

    Anyone have a clue as to what might be causing this problem?

    Sandy King
    Sandy,

    You might check to see if the resolution box (to the right of the boxes where you can set you width and height) is set to your appropriate pixels/inch or pixels/cm.) If that box gets changed, it reduces your file size. I know that ocassionally I somehow have changed it accidentally. Jim

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Tonopah, Nevada, USA
    Posts
    6,336

    Re: Crop Tool Problem with CS3

    Happened to me once. I think I just needed to hit "clear" up in the tool bar.

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    The "Live Free or Die" state
    Posts
    898

    Re: Crop Tool Problem with CS3

    Make sure the units in the crop dimensions are in inches or cm and not pixels.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    5,465

    Re: Crop Tool Problem with CS3

    Jim,

    Clicking on "Clear" on the top tool bar worked for me as well. I don't have a clue what I did to create this situation, or why "Clear" cleaned it up, but at least I can use the Crop tool again.

    Sandy





    Quote Originally Posted by Jim Galli View Post
    Happened to me once. I think I just needed to hit "clear" up in the tool bar.

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    65

    Re: Crop Tool Problem with CS3

    Similar problem.
    I always use the rectangle selection mode and Image/crop command because I've never figured out how to use the crop tool to do the following: set a rectangular selection with a fixed aspect ratio and crop without having to mess with resolution at the same time. When I tried that before, I got the same result Sandy did : I entered 4W and 5H and got a picture that was 5 x 4 PIXELS.

    Is it possible to set a rectangular selection with a fixed aspect ratio and crop without changing anything else at the same time.?

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    1,539

    Re: Crop Tool Problem with CS3

    To reset the configuration of CS2 or CS3 to the original settings hold down the control, alt, and shift key while opening PS. A prompt should appear asking if you want to delete the Photoshop setting file to which the proper reply is yes.

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    1,539

    Re: Crop Tool Problem with CS3

    Quote Originally Posted by AJSJones View Post
    Similar problem.
    I always use the rectangle selection mode and Image/crop command because I've never figured out how to use the crop tool to do the following: set a rectangular selection with a fixed aspect ratio and crop without having to mess with resolution at the same time. When I tried that before, I got the same result Sandy did : I entered 4W and 5H and got a picture that was 5 x 4 PIXELS.

    Is it possible to set a rectangular selection with a fixed aspect ratio and crop without changing anything else at the same time.?
    Yes, that is covered in the CS2 book authored by Kelby. I don't have my copy in front of me at the moment but I remember that well.

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    5,465

    Re: Crop Tool Problem with CS3

    Donald,

    Thanks. Very good pointers.

    Sandy


    Quote Originally Posted by Donald Miller View Post
    To reset the configuration of CS2 or CS3 to the original settings hold down the control, alt, and shift key while opening PS. A prompt should appear asking if you want to delete the Photoshop setting file to which the proper reply is yes.

  10. #10
    おせわに なります! Andrew O'Neill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Coquitlam, BC, Canada, eh!
    Posts
    4,806

    Re: Crop Tool Problem with CS3

    Would dumping your preferences help?

Similar Threads

  1. CS3 color profiles/settings - problem
    By genesis111989 in forum Digital Hardware
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-Oct-2008, 03:43
  2. Microtek i800 problem
    By al olson in forum Digital Hardware
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-Jun-2008, 14:33
  3. SilverFast, CS3 and B&W Scanning with 4990
    By Jim Cole in forum Digital Processing
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 19-May-2008, 16:10
  4. The Problem with Xtol - Some After Thoughts
    By William D. Lester in forum Darkroom: Film, Processing & Printing
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 23-Mar-2001, 10:50
  5. Focusing problem on 6X9 horseman fieldcamera
    By Taewon Yoon in forum Cameras & Camera Accessories
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 29-Aug-2000, 20:17

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •