Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Shutter speed question

  1. #1
    Ron Miller
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    CT, USA
    Posts
    552

    Shutter speed question

    I want to start off by saying that I often refrain from asking questions. As a newbie, I sometimes get answers that are intentionally belittling. For the most part everyone here has helped me tremendously, but there are those...

    My question is on setting shutter speed. I had heard a while ago (somewhere) that you should always set the shutter speed on a shutter dial to one of the marked speeds. Never inbetween. If I wanted f22 aperature and the meter read 1/25 but the shutter speeds were 1/5, 1/10, 1/50, etc...I would adjust my aperature accordingly to use 1/10 speed (for example only).

    What I heard is that when you select a speed between 2 markings on a shutter, that the shutter makes a choice on which of the 2 speeds to use. So with my example (of 1/5, 1/10, 1/50, ...) I would never get 1/25.

    Is this true?

    Thanks...

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,337

    Re: Shutter speed question

    yes and no.
    Some shutters used stepped cams to set shutter speeds, while others use a continuous cam. Those which use stepped cams can only be set at marked intervals. if set in between, they will commonly used the lower speed.
    those with a continuous cam can be set between marked speeds however usually not very accurately.

  3. #3
    Octogenarian
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Frisco, Texas
    Posts
    3,526

    Re: Shutter speed question

    Yes. Assuming that you have a Copal shutter, the shutter will use the higher shutter speed, if you set it at an in-between speed.

    Make your fine adjustments with the aperture settings. They are marked in 1/3 increments.

  4. #4

    Re: Shutter speed question

    I do not believe Copal or Compur can be set between speeds but Ilex can. I'm also fairly certain Betax can be set between also. Others I don't know.

  5. #5
    Martin Aislabie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Stratford-upon-Avon, England
    Posts
    270

    Re: Shutter speed question

    I always use the fixed/marked shutter speeds and take up the increments on the aperture dial.

    Martin

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    953

    Re: Shutter speed question

    Yeah, I agree with Martin. Use the f-stop to adjust. Also, your speeds should be checked periodically.

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    4,971

    Re: Shutter speed question

    Quote Originally Posted by Don Dudenbostel View Post
    I do not believe Copal or Compur can be set between speeds but Ilex can.
    It depends on the Compur. Synchro Compur cannot but Compur Rapid can... except between 1/50 and 1/100.

  8. #8
    kev curry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    827

    Re: Shutter speed question

    Quote Originally Posted by gevalia View Post
    I want to start off by saying that I often refrain from asking questions. As a newbie, I sometimes get answers that are intentionally belittling. For the most part everyone here has helped me tremendously, but there are those...
    It would be a shame if you were to allow 'those' few insentient individuals to put you off from seeking out information

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    S.W. Wyoming
    Posts
    1,137

    Re: Shutter speed question

    The problem with doing that is you don't know what the speed will be. I have done some serious testing on older shutters, and some late models, using a shutter speed tester. My results show that almost always, the speed will be very inconsistent and it's extremely hard to get the intermediate speed you want. The only way you could hope to get accurate intermediate speeds is on site testing. A crap shoot not worth taking, in my opinion. I have some shutters similar to yours. My take on it is, for general use, I err on the side of a slower speed and smmaller aperture. If you haven't had your shutter tested, you may unknowingly not have the marked speeds to begin with. For what it's worth, if you trip the shutter twice at 1/50, it will give you an equivalent exposure of 1/25.
    Last edited by Glenn Thoreson; 7-May-2009 at 10:56. Reason: Forgot something

  10. #10
    Ron Miller
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    CT, USA
    Posts
    552

    Re: Shutter speed question

    Thanks all. There is light at the end of this tunnel, of course that could just be someone else that is lost walking my way with a flashlight.

Similar Threads

  1. How do you set shutter speed on Seneca Special 5X7?
    By R. Juan Clements in forum Cameras & Camera Accessories
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 2-Dec-2012, 12:45
  2. Sub-zero shutter speed accuracy?
    By Scott Kathe in forum Lenses & Lens Accessories
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 11-Jan-2008, 20:20
  3. newbie question - mounting lens and shutter
    By David F in forum Lenses & Lens Accessories
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 21-Sep-2005, 04:45
  4. 8x10 lens with 1/500th shutter speed ??
    By chris jordan in forum Lenses & Lens Accessories
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 26-Nov-2004, 17:06
  5. Speed Graphic shutter curtain travel time
    By Erik Ryberg in forum Cameras & Camera Accessories
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 13-Aug-1998, 18:01

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •