Thread: Hello from Dallas

Hello from Dallas

Hi y'all,

My name is Michael. I am an avid hobbyist who started with a Mamiya C220 and a Konica back in the late '60s early '70s. Been shooting digital since about 2000 and almost a decade later decided to take the giant leap into "real" photography this week. Found the site, read up on all posts and reviews, read "View Camera Technique" and ordered my equipment today!
    I hope to learn more each time I visit and can't wait to use a 4X5 for the very first time.

Big Bend

Re: Hello from Dallas

Welcome Michael,
    You can't help but learn something every time you visit this site. There is an incredible wealth of knowledge here and very generous folks willing to share that wealth. Congrats on your first 4x5.

Best
    Joe

You're in the right place. I still remember my first 4x5 shot I took at Brooks Institute of an archway with a Cambo SC on Tri-X back in 1977. I now have two 4X5 cameras and a bunch of glass. What a journey. Joe is right, you'll find lots of friends here all willing to help with an encouraging word and quick answers to all your questions. Welcome and good light!

RF

Octogenarian

Hi Michael,

If you want someone to help you learn to operate your new toy, feel free to contact me.

We have a small group of guys that get together on Sat. morning and go to a location in the DFW area. We photograph many interesting scenes and objects with our LF cameras.

If the weather doesn't cooperate, we meet for breakfast and talk photography.

Quote Originally Posted by Gem Singer View Post
    Hi Michael,

If you want someone to help you learn to operate your new toy, feel free to contact me.

We have a small group of guys that get together on Sat. morning and go to a location in the DFW area. We photograph many interesting scenes and objects with our LF cameras.

If the weather doesn't cooperate, we meet for breakfast and talk photography.