Thread: Reliable shops

Reliable shops

I'm thinking buying a 11x14 feild camera after I've been working a 8x10 and 4x5 for 6 years. Clayton Classic Camera offers a Deardorff and I sent inquires howev er there has been no responce. Does any has bought something at there ? Other s hops tend to respond soon and give me information. It's expensive so I'd like to buy from reliable shops.

Reliable shops

I have purchased a couple of accessory items from them and had no problem. But I heard a story from another photographer who had purchased a camera from them and had a couple of problems. First, the rating of a particular camera was less than advertised. Secondly, the bellows needed to be replaced. While they did replace the bellows and adjusted the price for the condition, I get concerned because it starts to enter into the "grey" area of a financial transaction. And that area is purely subjective.

Spending the kind of money that a good field 11 x 14 commands, I would find a way to personally inspect the purchase if possible. Otherwise, I would make sure you have a 10 day no questions asked return policy in writing. If Clayton Camera has not returned your calls, do you think that it will be any better after the purchase ?

I personally would go to Plan B. Since 11 x 14 is a very specialized format, be patient. I would check private sales in the classified adds of View Camera or other sources.

Good Luck

Reliable shops